We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinlochbervie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kinlochbervie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochbervie
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Reasonably priced hotel in fairly remote location. Stunning Views of the Scottish North West Coast. Food was Ok, but nothing outstanding. Large double room, with usual facilities and supplies.
Have stayed here several times in the past under different ownership, when the place had more character and was better looked after. The sort of things that need attention are: carpets need to see vacuum cleaner more often, bathrooms need decorating, tablecloths need changing when used and some of the furniture needs replacing.
Good relaxing stay though in a beautiful area.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking one of the two harbours
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Kinlochbervie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband, daughter and I almost didn't stay at this hotel because of the bad reviews but decided to hope for the best as we wanted to be near the beaches for lots of walking. We were totally surprised to find it was as good as any 3 star hotel we have used. The room was spacious and clean, beds very comfortable, the tea making facility re-stocked efficiently. The shower controls were oversensitive but with patience it was possible to get the right temperature of water. The hotel staff were friendly and the food was very good - so much so that we ate there every evening. There is a bar at the back of the place which seemed quite basic and not to our liking but you don't need to go near this area. Yes, the wallpaper was flowery but we have stayed in 5 star hotels with similar lack of contemporary style. We took our golden retriever and early morning walks were easy because of a large meadow between the hotel and the water. Car parking was outside the breakfast room so we could put him in the car and easily keep an eye on him while we ate. We had booked two nights but ended up staying three. The area is beautiful and the beaches a dream. This is not a 5 star hotel but a good 3 star which we found good value for money

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple bed room at the back of the hotel. No view but despite being over the bar it w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The scenery outside was spectacular but there was no indication inside that you were in a Highland fishing village. The bland flower prints and mimsy ornaments were more suited to a nursing home - why not seascapes by local artists? Bed comfortable, room clean - but completely devoid of personality; we could have been in a motel anywhere in the country. Dinner – haddock, apparently landed at the harbour a few hundred yards away, was greasy, fried in more-than-once-used oil I would guess; on the plate with the hot-smoked salmon was a little dish of indeterminate sludge not mentioned on the menu and which the three of us failed to identify. A question as to the whereabouts of the 'daily specials' page on the menu brought a shrug from the waitress. White wine came in an ice bucket but had not been previously chilled. Breakfast was OK. It was all OKish - but with some imagination, more attention to detail, a chef who can make decent fish and chips (surely not too much to ask), and smiling staff, it could be so much better, and more what this area deserves.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea or harbour view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catybell39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Walked in then right back out again! Dreadful place stuck in the 70s. No need for this at all and in an area where this could be a gem. Owners take note! You are a disgrace to hospitality with a scruffy untidy lounge area, peeling paint and dated furnishings! People won't accept this when there are do many other great places in the area! Please do something to give our tourists faith in the tourist industry

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alasdair-Roxburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLBHotel, Owner at Kinlochbervie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Walked in and straight back out again?Yet had time to form opinions.The review states stayed June 2013.Clearly the reviewer could not have "stayed" We recently had our visit scotland 3 star status confirmed.We are one of the very few places in the area to actually have an accreditation by an independant reviewing body.This reviewer makes these comments having admitted he did not spend any time here and suggests there are other "great" places in the area who do not subscribe to accepted industry standard accreditation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I can only echo many of the comments posted already - we stayed for one night in a room that overlooked a flat roof and walls with peeling paint but the main complaint was the seedy bathroom and unusable shower. The diverter valves did not divert and to get warm water from the shower meant scalding water flooding out of the bath taps at the same time burning your feet! Until the hot water ran out... On mentioning this on checkout I was told a) the bathroom was refurbished only a few months ago and 2) that someone stayed in the room for a whole week and everything was fine.

Its a great location, comfy lounge, good food and the best kippers for breakfast. Just avoid room 16.

Room Tip: Avoid the inward facing rooms - the Loch views are fantastic.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dave697564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stopped for a some lunch but very quickly felt very out of place and as if we were imposing on the staff. Not a smile, no p's and q's. Toilet by bar hadn't been checked for days by the look of it. Coffee would have been better if it was mellow birds. We couldn't get out of there quickly enough. Felt like something out of a forgotten sitcom with no laughs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Such a shame as the view and location is perfect, but lack of competition has led to complacency and no re-investment.

We only went for a drink and dinner and the chef didn't understand the meaning "allergy" when the meal was returned with offending items just scraped off and the meal just shuffled about a bit. My friend then spent the rest of the meal having to pick away at what was edible. Shocking, not even an apology.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuartASutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochbervie
22.5 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
390 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
356 reviews
22.9 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
24.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlochbervie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlochbervie Hotel

Address: Kinlochbervie IV27 4RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Kinlochbervie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochbervie
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kinlochbervie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing