We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
26
58
36
23
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
58
36
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews remote location adjoining bar would stay again some tlc quality and quantity comfortable hotel a bit tired fantastic views public areas venison steak cape wrath leona clash fishing lochs highlands lounging
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Yes this is remote part of Scotland and beautifully scenic. But the hotel was tired looking, even the front door could do with a lick of paint. It was a pity that there wasn't a B&Q DIY store nearby as it could do with a serious it of work. The windows could have done with a wash, and some of the dusting improved upon. Even the curtains would have benefitted from some extra hooks. I am led to believe that the ownership MAY change and hopefully the hotel will get a capital input. It's a pity as all the staff were very polite and courteous. The food was fine and the portions were ample.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Francesca121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Had not been in Kinlochbervie for around a year.

The room was clean and very comfortable and both breakfast and evening meals were very good and reasonably priced.

Staff were friendly and helpful . At £55.00 per night Bed and Breakfast this hotel is a bargain stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Recently used this Hotel whilst travelling up north in Scotland. The hotel is a bit out of the way, but rooms were comfortable and clean, with the majority of staff pleasant. The only downside was the miserable and rude woman who served breakfast, who also doubled up as check out receptionist in the morning.
She was basically non communicative, miserable and gave the impression it was an inconvenience to her that we had decided to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamboJohn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Kinlochbervie is a lovely area along the coast and it's LITTERED with other B&B's or small hotels that you should stay at instead of this location.

Let me preface this by saying that this was our third trip overseas, and we always look for affordable hotels/B&B's - we are not "hotel snobs" and really only want a clean room, good WiFi and a working TV. The lady who worked the counter and later the bar was lovely and pleasant, the views were fantastic and the WiFi was actually really fast. Everything else was a mess.

The building has literally not been updated in at least 25 years, and it shows. Just walking into the front entrance you immediately know it's old and unkempt. The carpet in the hotel everywhere and the room was decades old, stained, frayed on the edges and loose. The bathroom in our room had paneling that was from the 1970's and showed water spots/mildew that indicated it basically isn't cleaned in-between guests. Getting the toilet to flush was an extreme sport that required several pumps of the handle at the right speed/rhythm to get it to flush, and don't you dare look under the tank lid unless you want to see layers of mold and mildew. There was black mold on the wall in our room. Our mattress was a worn out spring mattress but was thankfully free of bedbugs.

The bar downstairs is apparently a hangout for the locals, which is fine because seeing the locals is always a treat when travelling - but the bar was full of a dozen or so extremely loud people with their kids. We ordered dinner at the hotel because there's really nowhere else in town to eat and the food was dreadful. The quality was awful, pre-fab and not worth the 15-pound price tag - to top it off, the condiment packets were mostly expired OVER A YEAR AGO. We skipped breakfast because dinner was so sketchy. All in all, it was the first hotel I actually felt icky staying in, and had we the option to sleep elsewhere, we would've, but all the B&B's were full. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped here at just after 1pm to get something to eat / drink. Went to the reception and rang the bell. Nobody came to answer. Looked around - No sign of anybody in the the hotel so left. Disappointing.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pentland_Paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews