We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & comfortable stay”
Review of Poolewe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poolewe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poolewe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location & comfortable stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Much extended old highland inn with great views out over the sea and Inverewe gardens. Tasty food served in the bar area, which is a bit confusing in layout. Room are small & could do with some updating but but with great views.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGuru5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    75
    45
    9
    10
See reviews for
38
86
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The homemade food was tasty and plentiful, with a daily specials board as well as the regular menu. The bar area, including a pool table and darts board, was welcoming and friendly.
We stayed in room 6 which has beautiful views over Loch Ewe. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with a big roll top bath, good to relax in after a day out in the scottish countryside.
Nearby are the magnificent Inverewe Gardens, well worth a visit. There are also several lovely walks in the area, as well as a few local indoor attractions for bad weather days, such as the Gairloch Heritage museum and the nearby indoor swimming pool.
The new owners are continuing to make great improvements to this hotel, and we look forward to returning here before too long.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I only stayed at the Poolewe hotel for one night but it suited us perfectly. No thrills but very nice towels and a lovely location. We were initially offered a nice room but with a bath without a shower which didn't suit us so we moved to a smaller room which wasn't as nice but did give us a shower. We ate in the bar and had a great evening with several local lads in for their Friday night drink - all great fun. We were not expecting anything special for breakfast but were pleasantly surprised with the high quality breakfast offered. We have no hesitation in recommending the Poolewe Hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely but has a bath without a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

are just back from a few days in poolewe with dog emailed hotel before we went to check if dogs still allowed and to book the table we alway have. Garry got back to me really quickly with both questions anwered. Must say what we saw hotel very clean and bright Garry and staff made us and dog very welcome Food was really good very fresh and hot and plentiful after a days walking.Due to things out of our control we had to cancel the table booking for the rest of the holiday the team where really good and understood looking forward to going back in may and sept next year.PLEASE give Garry a chance money doesnt grow on trees he is trying his best the hotel was very run down and will take time to sort out

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel last weekend. The double room was spotless with a superb bathroom, which to me meant that the new owners were investing in the property. Garry, the Manager was welcoming and his new chef Roman and his partner Joanne made everyone welcome. It is the only bar in Poolewe and on the Friday it was not particularly busy, but Saturday made up for it with it being the end of the month and the locals were there in abundance to add to the character of the place. Whilst the restaurant is a bit bright, the food was excellent, especially if you like Fish or Game. On the Friday I had the game pie, which was superb, and my wife had the salmon fishcakes, which were enormous. On the Saturday I had their renowned Cullen Skink as a starter, followed by the best piece of Haddock I've ever had, and Roman's Fruit crumble was magnificent.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. in what can only be described as one of the most beautiful and scenic areas of the UK. Breath-taking panoramas are all around and nearby are the world famous Inverewe Gardens, which are a must to visit. Would definitely stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Room 6, a double was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I wrote a very negative review of this Hotel last year..glad to say it seems to have improved now tht it is out of administration.... only visited for food and drink but the atmosphere is so much better.... it just needs some finer touches.... lack of tartar sauce served with fish until asked for.... but excellent beer.... lets hope it continues to improve and reflect what is one of the jewels of the West Highlands...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We ate here as a family, having an early, (6.30p.m) meal. We were disappointed with the dining room which had plastic table cloths and flowers making it feel more like a cafe than a restaurant attached to an otherwise nice hotel.
The food was average and we were disappointed at the lack of local fish on the menu. Only one white wine and one red wine on offer which is surprising for a hotel!
The homemade fish cakes were lovely but presentation was poor. Its great to see the hotel open and operational again but we felt that they was certainly room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
4.2 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
236 reviews
7.4 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poolewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poolewe Hotel

Property: Poolewe Hotel
Address: Main Street | Highlands, Poolewe IV22 2JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poolewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Poolewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional highland hotel and restaurant, on the shores of Loch Ewe in sight of Inverewe Gardens. Poolewe Hotel is a 16th-Century coaching inn in the picturesque village of Poolewe on the shore of Loch Ewe near Gairloch on the NW Coast of Scotland. Just 90 minutes of beautiful easy driving from Inverness Airport. Set amidst dramatic Highland scenery, Poolewe Hotel is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this wild and beautiful corner of Scotland. Guests can choose from twelve en-suite bedrooms and suites, most enjoying spectacular views most of the sea or mountains. In addition, Poolewe Hotel boasts a reputation for excellent food with a restaurant, a conservatory dining area, and a bar. Log fires in all the public rooms contribute to the friendly atmosphere of this historic inn. The hotel welcomes dogs; there is ample parking and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Visit Poolewe whether to relax or to enjoy an active holiday, or a combination of both. • Visit the world-famous National Trust for Scotland Inverewe Gardens situated less than a mile from the hotel, clearly visible from the hotel dining room. • Enjoy hill walking. There are maps available in the hotel outlining the various routes, catering for a wide range of abilities. • Trout and salmon fishing, whale watching, deer stalking, canoeing, climbing, mountain biking, pony trekking, golf are all on offer in the area. • Take in the beautiful and inspiring scenery. • Visit a traditional small highland distillery. • Witness the amazing wildlife of Western Europe's last true wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poolewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poolewe Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing