We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Lovely”

The Gathering Place Bistro
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Braemar
Price range: US$13 - US$77
Cuisines: British, European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Scottish and British Grill style restaurant with a lovely relaxed atmosphere and a menu to suit all We serve evening meals to suit most tastes but our most popular are our steaks. Our head chef is always prepared to amend a dish to suit your dietary requirements...just let us know. Booking is advisable but not always necessary We look forward to hearing from you Free Wi-Fi for guests Find us on facebook
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Lovely”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant. Fresh ingredients, tasty food and beautiful presentation. We ate here twice during our 2 night stay in the area. Very accommodating wait staff also.

Helpful?
Thank jessi_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Jessi,
Thanks so much for your fantastic review and for taking the time to post it. It's a great compliment to us that you chose to come twice.
We hope to see you again if you are ever in beautiful Braemar,
Thank you again
Best regards,
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    47
    15
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Getting it just right”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Gathering Place is just right for a good meal at the end of a day in the Highlands. It's a friendly place and hits jut the right balance between fine dining and serious refuelling...ideal after coming down off Morrone etc.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonandNeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello Simon and Neda,
What a lovely review! It's good to know that we got it right! We do try!!! Thanks so much for coming here and ,indeed ,we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future,
Best wishes ,
Sandie & Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant...”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

One of the friendliest places I have eaten at for some time. The food was fantastic, I had the Pork Belly which was cooked superbly the crackling on it was fantastic. My partner had the rib eye steak which was equally as good. The sticky toffee pudding was in a class of it's own.
Will most certainly be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Truckerlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Good morning Truckerlass,
What a fantastic review! Many thanks for posting it.
We hope to welcome you back here another time.
All the best,
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well Worth a Try”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a cracking meal on our first night in Braemar.

I had the game pie which was delicious, all locally sourced ingredients, freshly made. My Dad had the baked Salmon in Hollandaise sauce, which he'd highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Si B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Sibo,
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it was kind of you to take the time to do that.
Really glad that you both enjoyed your dinner with us and hope to see you both again!
Thanks again,
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My son Rob and i came here as he wanted pasta and thought that all bistros servered pasta. We were a little dissapointed that there was no kids menu with pasta on it. We asked the waitress who said she was only helping out. She went off to ask chef. They produced a fantastic bowl of pasta with sauce and my steak was done perfectly. Both me and Rob really enjoyed our dinner. Your temp member of staff was lovely and very friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank barrymporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your meal here and that Rob enjoyed his pasta!
Hope to see you both again soon
Best wishes
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gathering Place Bistro also viewed

Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Gathering Place Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing