We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”

The Gathering Place Bistro
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Braemar
Price range: US$13 - US$78
Cuisines: European, French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Scottish and British Grill style restaurant with a lovely relaxed atmosphere and a menu to suit all We serve evening meals to suit most tastes but our most popular are our steaks. Our head chef is always prepared to amend a dish to suit your dietary requirements...just let us know. Booking is advisable but not always necessary We look forward to hearing from you Free Wi-Fi for guests Find us on facebook
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a lovely wee restaurant in a nice garden setting. The good was really nice. Service was good and attentive. I would definately recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraLa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Laura,
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed having dinner here, and if you are ever back in Scotland, we hope to meet you again.
Thank you,
Best wishes,
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    46
    15
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful treat in Braemar”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a wonderful family meal here in July 2014. The owner was so attentive to our young boys, making them fish pies especially (no children's menu per se) and giving them fresh strawberries. The food was delicious and the owner gave us a recommendation for a popular cafe in Leith. It was a perfect meal and highlight of our visit to Braemar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynetteG787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Good morning Lynette,
A big thank you for such a lovely review!
I do remember you both and your lovely boys, glad they enjoyed our fishcakes!
If you are ever back in Scotland, we hope to see you again,
Best wishes to you all,
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Friends told us about The Gathering Place and we were not disappointed. The venison pie was delicious as was the steak. We managed to squeeze in the pavlova, one of the best I've had.Staffe very friendly and attentive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianne4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good morning Dianne,
It was great to see that you posted a fantastic review about us!
We are always happy when people enjoy their meal here.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us
We hope to see you again if you are ever back in Bonnie Scotland.
Haste ye back!
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Steaks were delicious, along with all other food. Presentation lovely. Staff very friendly. One of our party was feeling unwell and unable to eat the meal they had ordered. Constant attention, offers of alternate food, something simple like soup etc. no charge for the meal, which was left uneaten. They could not have been kinder.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Good morning Jackumo,
Thank you for such a wonderful review, I do remember your table.
We were pleased to be able to help one of your party, and hope he felt better the next day.
We hope to see you again if you are back in Braemar,
Many thanks again for your generous praise !
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Complain at your peril!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I visited The Gathering Place Bistro recently with my partner. To start I had the French Onion Soup and my partner had the Prawn Cocktail. Both of were of a nice enough standard and quality.

But it was with the main course that the problems started. We both ordered the 8oz Rib Eye Steak with Peppercorn Sauce, we asked for both to be cooked medium rare. These mains were priced at £21 with a £2 supplement for the peppercorn sauce so our expectations were pretty high. However, when the food arrived it was obvious that the steaks were well done as opposed to medium-rare. We're not in tha habit of returning food, but felt that it was necessary on this occasion so called over the waiter who politely obliged and returned our meals to the kitchen.

Then a lady, whom one could only presume to be the restaurant owner came over and said in a rather short tone "so you want your steaks rare then?...because those were medium-rare" how patronising and rude she was. We're not the only ones who think so, judging from some of the other reviews. This made for an awkward atmosphere whilst we waited for our meals...

When the food came out a second time, the steaks were admittedly better. I feel like I must mention the meat and TEN veg that was on my plate also, in total there was: broccoli, carrots, mash potato, roast potato, dauphinoise potatoes (3 types of potato...really!?), (processed) onion rings, (sweaty) mushrooms, asparagus and a grilled tomato. Presentation was out the window and quantity was definitely the order of the day as opposed to quality! This could be easily rectified by losing a lot of the unnecessary things here. All that is needed: Grilled tomato, a portobello mushroom and some nice hand-cut chips.

Needless to say...we both left the majority of our mains and asked for the bill rather swiftly/ afterwards.

The bill was almost £80 which is ridiculous considering the level of food on offer. I've had better meals at my local on two for £10!!

Avoid!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babysoda, Owner at The Gathering Place Bistro, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Matt,
Your review is inaccurate.
Customer complaints are taken seriously and at all times we happily try to resolve them.
We replaced your steaks which were medium rare to cooked rare. Strange that you omitted the bottle of expensive wine from your total bill? We are never knowingly rude to customers, our reviews reflect this fact.
Best wishes
Sandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gathering Place Bistro also viewed

Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Gathering Place Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing