We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home fare.”
Review of The Old Bakery

The Old Bakery
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Braemar
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Scottish
Description: A family run coffee house and restaurant servicing locally sourced ingredients for Traditional Scottish and Authentic Italian Cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: A family run coffee house and restaurant servicing locally sourced ingredients for Traditional Scottish and Authentic Italian Cuisine.
Peterhead , Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Good home fare.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

On our way home from Edinburgh (over the hills via Pitlochry and Glenshee) we had a walk around Braemar. We were a bit peckish and saw a fairly busy wee tearoom. We expected to wait for a while but were promptly offered a table for four. The food was very good with both my wife and I enjoying the homemade minestrone soup whilst our two young boys tucked into sausage in a bap and chips with cheese. Service was very friendly and quick as we were still a long way from home. Will definitely use again when stopping in Braemar.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I with 2 friends went in recently for lunch. It was very nice, I had a toasted sandwich was hot, crispy and delicious. The prices are very reasonable. The owner was such a nice person and knew a great deal about the surrounding area. We will most definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I have twice eaten in here and have thoroughly enjoyed the food at reasonable prices. We found the owners very friendly and enjoyed a lengthy chat with them as it was quiet when we entered the second time. We would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shona27-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food pleasent waitress”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stopped of here for lunch had a lovely plate of homemade lentil soup with. Oatcakes my husband had a baked potatoe food was very good waitress was very pleasent but decor was rather dingy could do with a overhaul

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katieo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good bacon rolls”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very basic but very functional cafe with excellent service from charming staff. Food was great value and filter coffee was on free refill. Good stop for a quick snack.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bakery also viewed

Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing