We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scones ever!”

Gordon's Tearoom & restaurant
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Braemar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Full breakfast menu, hot filled rolls and a wide snack menu. Lunch menu with daily specials. Wide selection of delicious home made cakes and scones. With a good choice of gluten and dairy free options available.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best scones ever!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A traditional Scottish tearoom. Nothing fancy. Service pleasant and with a smile. Coffee and tea were lovely. Scones (made on the premises) were hot and tasted fabulous! Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    95
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Saviour”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

After a less than impressive attempt at buying a bar meal at the Fife Arms Hotel we came next door to this little gem. Nice layout and attentive staff.
Menu reasonably priced and with good selection. Cairngorm steak and ale pie and the chicken roulade was just what we needed.
Lovely little place. We will be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braco, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good Dinner”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely dinner had here .. good service .. excellent value for money
would recommend a visit if in area .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Much more than a tea room.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in here on the spur of the moment around 8.30 on Tuesday evening after driving up Glenshee from Blairgowrie. We managed to get onto a cosy table for 2 in what was a busy and buzzing room. The speed of the service was very good by friendly and laid-back staff, with a good selection of starters, mains, desserts, hot, cold and alcoholic drinks. Our food was quick to arrive, but unrushed. The restaurant was full and there was a great atmosphere and nobody was left waiting. Everything ran smooth as clockwork. It is a little gem of a place to eat in the evening. Relaxed, good choice, inexpensive and cosy. I guess it helped that it was our wedding anniversary that day and we were just passing through Braemar after visiting the area we were married in, but I'm glad we did. If you are in Braemar either in the day or the evening, do try this establishment out. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Arrived in Braemar looking for a quick place to eat after a scenic drive from Aberdeen. Snug place with a warm feeling, very busy and we've been able to get a seat for 2 on a Saturday afternoon. We didn't wait to be seated as we would've waited a while. Once we were seated the food was quickly served. Hearty food, local bread, great sandwich.

Certainly a place to pop in for a friendly lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oiltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon's Tearoom & restaurant also viewed

Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Gordon's Tearoom & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing