We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar food excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bar food excellent”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I can't comment on the rest of the hotel as we did not stay here (we had a cottage in Braemar). However, we did eat in the bar here on a couple of nights and each time was very pleasant. The food is very good, as is the service, and there are a number of local bottled ales to choose from as well as a good choice of whisky.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodstock1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your eating experience with us; we certainly feel that we provide a good and tasty selection of food at the Invercauld arms. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    206
    98
    55
    42
See reviews for
62
316
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The location just south of Balmoral is great for touring the highlands. The hotel is good but showing signs of wear. Bed comfortable and room nice and clean all facilities worked well. Food very much cafeteria and did not match the menu. I did get an apology and £30 vouchers towards my next holiday with Bay Hotels. Suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review, I am disappointed to read that you did not like our food, had you have let us know at the time we would have done our best to rectify this for you. Glad you enjoyed your time in Bramear.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel is a magnificent stone-built hotel in a beautiful location – with interesting history.

Comfortable bar and lounge areas.

Our bedroom was clean but lacking in the facilities one expects – the carpet was a disgrace – bald patches and wrinkled. The furniture was worn and damaged

Our bathroom was retro chic – sink was cracked and very old – bath was straight out of the sixties – the toilet seat kept falling off – not very welcoming.

The restaurant is pleasantly laid out and has an air of quality. The service was terrible – on average we waited 40 minutes between courses. The restaurant supervisor was extremely rude and verbally abused us for sitting on the wrong table – even though our booking form had allocated us to that table - not what you expect from a Bay hotel.

The food portions were extremely small – our first starter of smoked mackerel was the size of a postage stamp – we know that Bay hotels have implemented cut-backs - but you might as well not bother having a meal at all with portions of this size.

Food quality was also very poor and not at all like the poster at the front of the hotel which shows a beautiful grilled steak and giant prawn. Some guests write to say that you shouldn’t expect decent food and service if you are only paying a small price for your holiday – and Bay hotels are reasonably priced – but surely there comes a point at which lousy service and poor food quality/portion sizes put people off staying at their hotels.

The hotel caters for seniors on Shearings coach holidays – and the entertainment caters for their taste.

There are some truly amazing walks around Braemar – although people with mobility issues would struggle a little.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poshlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review, I am disappointed to read and wish you had discussed your dining experience during your stay where we would have tried our best to put this right for you, sorry we did not meet your expectation during your stay.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Braemar hotels

Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed Sat 31st May and Sunday 1st June, room very comfortable, food was good with dining room staff very well organised, just a pity there seemed to be no local staff, other than that first rate and will return

Room Tip: Room 73 very nice apart from some rough carpet fitting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Our staff will be very pleased with your comments. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My friend and I used to use this hotel every summer and were disappointed by its general shabbiness. Our rooms were dark and cramped and I could not use the shower as it was too difficult to get in. We were in the attic but fortunately there was a lift. Staff very pleasant and helpful but food of the school dinner variety. We were attracted by the price (£89 for 2 nights' half board) so I suppose we got what we paid for. Parking was a problem as I am disabled and the hotel was full.

Room Tip: Attic rooms (singles)are tiny and cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SagatravellerPortree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, disappointed to read, wish you had mentioned these issues during your stay and we may have been able to move you rooms, I disagree with your comments regarding the hotel as the lounges/restaurant have been refurbished and also the single rooms have been refurbished.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Admittedly this was a thursday, we stopped with 11 people for lunch and the service was not great. We sat outside with the menus, the food orders were taken outside- then we had to go into the hotel to the bar to pay and say what food we had just ordered, very innefficient. One of the party asked for chips instead of potatoes with a dish on the menu and was told that it was not possible to change any aspect of the menu although chips came with the other dishes. Pea and ham soup had not seen ham and looked like chip shop mushy peas, beef sandwich was on bread that was solid (old), chips were frozen - not worth the money. Gives scotland a bad reputation to visitors, we were travelling with friends from Germany and they were unimpressed. What a shame because the hotel looks lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very disappointed to read that you had less than enjoyable lunch experience with us and cant apologise enough for this, this is not our usual standard of food served, if you would like to discuss the service you received please call me direct.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, from 19th May to 23rd May. As others have said the room was comfortable and clean, as it was at the back of the building it was also very quiet.
The restaurant staff were very pleasant no matter how busy they were, and the menus gave lots of choice every day.
We were on a Shearings holiday and the excursions were fantastic, Debbie the coach driver is a very good driver and full of local knowledge, We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
280 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
375 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Property: The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing