We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a weekend self-drive break at this Shearings hotel.Okay,it is old-fashioned and in need of some improvements but the room was spacious and comfortable and the service excellent.The deal we got at £89 for 3 nights half-board was really good value.It is an excellent base for visiting the NTS castles around Deeside or walking into the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found us to be value for money, hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    206
    98
    55
    42
See reviews for
62
316
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from an 8 day stay and in our opinion this is a one of the best Shearings Hotels. The Manager (Jane) runs a very tight ship and the staff are obviously happy. The food is good and the rooms and public areas are very comfortable and very clean. If you want a really nice holiday in beautiful surroundings treat yourself and come here. We were lucky to have three great knowledgeable drivers who were all positively charming (Debbie,Stuart & Bob). All in all a great time ...Thank you

Room Tip: They have 11 ground floor rooms ---We had No.8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
5 star reviews are always a pleasure to receive-thank you. I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass your comments onto all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back. It was nice to speak to you and thanks again for the lovely review.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Invercauld Arms Hotel sits at the edge of Braemar Village, it is a spacious hotel built around 1645, with links to the Jacobite Rebelion of 1715. It is an impressive stone built building, which has lots of car parking space.

Our room was very large with twin beds a seating area and good drawer and wardrobe space. Although the room was on the ground floor, facing the road, the double glazing did keep out any traffic or other noises. The bathroom was also spacious with a good bath/shower combiation.

The excellent dining room had larger than usual tables, with lots of room between them. Sevice was very good, the waiters friendly and efficient. The menu was very good with the usual Haggis on one evening. (The addition of the Chef's Special in all Shearings hotels is a useful addition, as it gives more choice in the menues)

Unfortunately the entertainment lounge is very small and fills up so quickly tha it is difficult to see the performers. There are another two lounges, but they also cater for passing diners, so are not always available.

As Braemar is in the Cairngorms National Park, sights including Balmoral and Crathe Castles, Crathe Church and Ballater are well worth a visit. The scenery is superb with Linn of Dee and many single track scenic roads through the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
It’s wonderful to read your 5 star review and very much appreciated. I am really pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and have pass your lovely comment on to the relevant departments, thanks again for a lovely review hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I along with my sister in law stayed here last week on a four night Monday to Friday break ( self drive )

We were pleased with the rooms, single and double. The food was a good choice at breakfast and dinner where a minimum three choices for the three course evening dinner. Coffee was later served in the lounge

The staff were all pleasant . The nice lounge bar was comfortable with a great selection of malts. The evening entertainment was fine although the lounge is small for the amount of guests. We manged to visit Balmoral, Crathie, Grantown on Spey, Ballater ,Aboyne, Banchory, Tomintoul ,Glenshee, Linn of Dee and Pitlochry during our stay.

Overall a nice base to stay and we all agreed the selection and choice of food was worth the money.

Room Tip: My wife and I had a front room, second floor with lovely views over the hills ( room 74 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcd67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I shall pass all your comments onto our staff who will be pleased to have provided you with a pleasant and relaxing break, hope to see you again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I can't comment on the rest of the hotel as we did not stay here (we had a cottage in Braemar). However, we did eat in the bar here on a couple of nights and each time was very pleasant. The food is very good, as is the service, and there are a number of local bottled ales to choose from as well as a good choice of whisky.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodstock1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your eating experience with us; we certainly feel that we provide a good and tasty selection of food at the Invercauld arms. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The location just south of Balmoral is great for touring the highlands. The hotel is good but showing signs of wear. Bed comfortable and room nice and clean all facilities worked well. Food very much cafeteria and did not match the menu. I did get an apology and £30 vouchers towards my next holiday with Bay Hotels. Suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review, I am disappointed to read that you did not like our food, had you have let us know at the time we would have done our best to rectify this for you. Glad you enjoyed your time in Bramear.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel is a magnificent stone-built hotel in a beautiful location – with interesting history.

Comfortable bar and lounge areas.

Our bedroom was clean but lacking in the facilities one expects – the carpet was a disgrace – bald patches and wrinkled. The furniture was worn and damaged

Our bathroom was retro chic – sink was cracked and very old – bath was straight out of the sixties – the toilet seat kept falling off – not very welcoming.

The restaurant is pleasantly laid out and has an air of quality. The service was terrible – on average we waited 40 minutes between courses. The restaurant supervisor was extremely rude and verbally abused us for sitting on the wrong table – even though our booking form had allocated us to that table - not what you expect from a Bay hotel.

The food portions were extremely small – our first starter of smoked mackerel was the size of a postage stamp – we know that Bay hotels have implemented cut-backs - but you might as well not bother having a meal at all with portions of this size.

Food quality was also very poor and not at all like the poster at the front of the hotel which shows a beautiful grilled steak and giant prawn. Some guests write to say that you shouldn’t expect decent food and service if you are only paying a small price for your holiday – and Bay hotels are reasonably priced – but surely there comes a point at which lousy service and poor food quality/portion sizes put people off staying at their hotels.

The hotel caters for seniors on Shearings coach holidays – and the entertainment caters for their taste.

There are some truly amazing walks around Braemar – although people with mobility issues would struggle a little.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poshlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review, I am disappointed to read and wish you had discussed your dining experience during your stay where we would have tried our best to put this right for you, sorry we did not meet your expectation during your stay.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Braemar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
280 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
375 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Property: The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing