We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and special place to stay”
Review of Mar Lodge Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braemar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mar Lodge Estate
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique and special place to stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Myself and my daughter have just returned from a 4 night stay at mar lodge. We stayed in the Derry apartment which can sleep 4.
There are two bedrooms (twin and double) a bathroom and kitchen/lounge. The size of the apartment is unreal!
Apparently the whole place was fully booked (4 or 5 apartments in total) but we never really saw or heard anyone.
It is remote, about 3 miles outside of the nearest village Braemar. We used it as a base to explore the area and weren't disappointed. Stunning scenery and great walks for all abilities and ages on the doorstep and loads to do in the surrounding areas.
The only negative for us were the stags heads in the corridor of our apartment...bit creepy on a night but they are part of the lodges history, it was a hunting lodge!
Staff are friendly and helpful, great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heliocentricDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A group of 15 friends and family stayed at this super estate for a midweek break and as hard as I tried I just cannot find fault with the stay. It is spotless, elegant, luxurious and probably the best value holiday our family have ever had. It is run by the national trust and they were very helpful. The rooms were enormous and I would urge anyone looking for a family break in a stunning area of the Scottish Highlands to grab a bargain. One tip I would give is we ordered our shopping online from Asda and it was delivered prompt after our arrival and was a huge saving to local prices and saved a lot of packing room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreigB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Mar Lodge is a perfect place tucked away in the highlands. You would never just "trip" over this wonderful place to stay but well worth seeking it out. The lodge with it's various self catered apartments is just what you want if you are looking for peace and quiet. The apartments are spacious and comfortable and a great base to see the wonders of the Highlands.

The staff are friendly and helpful but leave you alone to enjoy the lodge to the full.

The views are also wonderful from the balconies and the only break in the quiet was the odd RAF Tournado Jet screaming up the glen, but this did not spoil our stay in any way.

Take the time to walk the one mile loop around the Lui Water trail you will not regret it.

Room Tip: There are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abermelvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

17 of us have just spent an amazing week at Mar Lodge. From young children to Munro baggers the lodge was ideal. The Bynack apartment had a big dining room table and social area. The large oven and 2 dishwashers in the kitchen made life much easier. The staff were on hand to cater for our needs such as providing large pans and opening the billiard room whenever we wanted. Huge baths and hot showers were clean and great for a post walk scrub. All towels were provided too. Drying room was big enough to cope with our wet gear.
Would stay there again no question.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pmemdacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

As an American, I attended my first Scottish wedding at the Mar Lodge Estates in the Highlands. All I can say is WOW! Queen Victoria layed the cornerstone in October 1895, sadly the place burned but was rebuilt to the origional plans. Some of the furnishings were saved and placed back into the lodge. The Highland games started on these grounds in the 11th century and continue to this day. After a beautiful wedding and reception in the lodge where thousands of deers are mounted, the bride and groom cut the cake with a sword and then the dancing began. After what appeared to be about two hours sleep it was game time. The bride and groom, tired but ready for the games, gathered with the guest. Lead players, in Kilts as required, explaned the rules and demonstrated the plays and it all began. After the games and tea, it was time to visit the church on the grounds that survived the fire. All in all, what a fairy tale wedding. What a setting for it, absolutely breathtaking!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 49williamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The lodge has many self contained appartments, of varying sizes, that can be booked out through the Scottish National Trust, there are even a couple of luxury houses on the estate that can be booked out.
The location is glorious situated on Royal Deeside, just outside the village of Braemar, this is ideal for walks in the hills as plenty of Munro's or lower level walks to be done plus biking tracks to try out. Peaceful location and the appartments are kitted out very well with all you could need, believe they are in process of refurbishing them all to have walk-in showers etc so that will just add to what they already have.
Close by you have the Linn of Dee & Linn of Quioch, Queens Drive is a lovely walk beside Braemar (one that Queen Victoria used to enjoy) but it is further afield that you want you have the ski centres for winter sport, or Aberdeen, Balmoral, Banchory, Blairgowrie, Boat of Garten, Aviemore etc etc
If you have never been to this area you should try it out, scenery is breath-taking !!!!

Room Tip: Seeing is believeing in a beautiful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donsloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Absolutely breathtaking and majestic wedding venue. Tons of character and charm. Lovely and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mlohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braemar hotels
0.0 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Braemar Youth Hostel
Braemar Youth Hostel
#2 of 2 in Braemar
40 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mar Lodge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Lodge Estate

Property: Mar Lodge Estate
Address: Braemar AB35 5YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Braemar
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday properties at Mar Lodge are an ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the magnificent Cairngorms National Park, not only in the spring and summer, but also at its most stunning time of the year - autumn and winter. The original hunting lodge for the estate has been converted into five luxurious self-catering apartments sleeping from 2 to 15 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar Lodge Estate Hotel Braemar
Mar Lodge Estate Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing