We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haven in a storm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braemar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivy Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Braemar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“haven in a storm”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Despite arriving in torrential rain, our spirits soon lifted after the owner Jennifer had shown us to our lovely spotless room with a huge comfortable bed and attractive en suite facilities. We were cooked an excellent evening meal and really appreciated the extra touches like home-made cookies in the room each day. We spent three nights there and were delighted with the standard of customer care - we are planning to return next year & can't wait!

Room Tip: both the upstairs rooms have an suite & overlook the garden & hills beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
100
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just completed a tour using eight of the top rated Scottish B & B s and Ivy Cottage can hold its head high. Jennifer at first comes across as shy or lacking confidence. She seemed anxious to show us our room and then leave us. A little more "intrusion" wouldn't have gone amiss. After she knew us she was much more relaxed. We had ordered dinner for our first night and having eaten it we ordered for the second. Delicious home made cookies were in our room on both days. The bed was supremely comfortable although for guests watching television or reading in their room, softer chairs might be better. Jennifer, you are a star. Don't be afraid to shine. Would I return? I absolutely would.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0ttishbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Such a lovely place! The cottage is situated very centrally in Braemar, this does not mean in any way that it is a noisy place, it is very quiet and peaceful. The room was simply great, with a lemon drizzle, homemade, along with tea and coffee-making facilities. Wonderful bed, slept like a log! The bathroom appearing to have old fashioned looking facilities, but they were modern and working perfectly. We had arranged to have our evening meal there and was given a choice between two dishes for the main course. It was quite simply superb! Jennifer looked after us so well, we had lovely made packed lunch the following day as we were hiking up the Morrone, a Corbett within easy reach of the guest house. Breakfast was also wonderful all served in a delightful room overlooking the garden with blackbirds and robins, all the while tastefully selected soft music was being played on the cd-player.

Room Tip: Our room was room no 3 and it was really lovely with a view across the garden towards the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiseBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ivy Cottage Guesthouse in Braemar for a week in July 2014 and had a really lovely experience. The room we stayed in (Room 2) was comfortable, tastefully decorated, quiet at night and had a lovely view over the garden and up to the hillside beyond. It also features a great en-suite bathroom with a proper enclosed shower cabinet with a moveable shower head. There was also home-made lemon drizzle cake or cookies left in the room for us every day, a really nice touch. The proprietor Jennifer was welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The breakfasts she gave us were great, and she was able to provide me with baked beans and hot chocolate, which weren’t on the menu. Also, we asked if she could make an evening meal for us at breakfast on the first morning. She gave us a choice of dishes and that night she cooked a really delicious two course dinner for us, (comparable to anything you would get in the very best restaurant.) We were so impressed that we asked her to cook for us twice more, and all the food she gave us was of the highest quality.

The only problem we had the entire stay was finding the guesthouse in the first place – the postal address is Cluniebank Road. We drove along Cluniebank Road until we hit the golf course, didn’t see Ivy Cottage and had to back-track. In fact the way to find the guesthouse is to pass the Fife Arms on Invercauld Road and then take the next left into the cul-de-sac. We arrived to hear the church bells chiming and were initially worried that they were going to chime every hour through the night, which would have been a problem. Thankfully they do not chime between 10 o’clock at night and 8.00 in the morning which was a relief.

In all we had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate to recommend Ivy Cottage whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulhouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was for sure one of the best Bed and Breakfast we visited during our whole stay in Scotland!
We were supposed to stay for two nights, but unfortunately we only stayed one because we made a mistake in our booking. Jennifer was very helpful when we showed up a day early and helped us find another accommodation. I really wish we had stayed there for two nights as planned!!
The room was perfect: huge comfy bed with Harris Tweed cushions, home made biscuits for tea, enough space for the luggage, very nice furniture, a nice hairdryer...
The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with very nice bath products and fluffy towels.
Having a gorgeous breakfast while overlooking rabbits frolicking in the garden was amazing.
I would highly recommend the Bed and Breakfast, without any hesitation!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ivy Cottage was perfect in every way and Jennifer was lovely and very welcoming.The place was immaculate and of a very high standard with lots of very special touches. The breakfasts were made even better by being able to sit and watch red squirrels, birds and baby rabbits in the garden. A wonderful place to stay to explore the Cairngorm National Park.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HR53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ivy Cottage for two nights in June. Jennifer was a perfect host. She greeted us with homemade cookies and coffee upon our arrival. Our room was lovely. We had a view of the garden and watched the baby rabbits at play (and nibbling the flowers). We took many lovely walks to the River Dee, Braemar Castle, and around town. We also hiked Morrone and the views were stunning. At Jennifer's suggestion we stopped to see the Linn of Dee on our last morning. Gorgeous. We had dinner at the cottage both nights.. Jennifer is an excellent cook.. make sure you have dessert too. If you're looking for a great place to stay (and eat) in the Braemar area, go to the Ivy Cottage. Penny and Jim from Groton, MA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
375 reviews
19.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
13.9 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Cottage Guest House

Property: Ivy Cottage Guest House
Address: Ivy Cottage Cluniebank Road, Braemar AB35 5ZP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Braemar village, you can enjoy views of the village centre from the front and are within a short stroll of the shops, cafes and restaurants of this picturesque Royal Deeside tourist village. To the back is a peaceful and secluded garden, attracting an abundance of wildlife, with views of the rolling hills beyond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Cottage Guest House Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing