We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the food!”
Review of Minmore House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenlivet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minmore House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenlivet
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston , Massachusetts
11
Reviewed 9 January 2006

My wife (an Aberdonian)and I (a Londoner) are currently resident in Boston USA and were over in Aberdeen (with our teenaged kids) to see family and friends. The night at Minmore was my wife's present to me for Christmas. We travel and use hotels a lot and have learnt to focus on what's unique/unusual/best about any venue; and for Minmore that's the food and Lynne and Victor's hospitality.
Dinner was excellent: four courses, nicely paced, great ingredients and perfect preparation. The wine list is extensive for a place of this size: we had a very good chablis.
Breakfast likewise was excellent: all the normal choices are there (the fresh fruit was terrific given that it was December!), but I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon as a "lighter" option than the full monty Minmore.
But the exceptional meal that you must fit in is the high tea. Lynne's pastry is melt-in-the-mouth ambrosia! Mince pies, shortbread, elegant sandwiches.
The rooms are ordinary (as other review mention) but if you arrive hungry and are open to chatting to your hosts and fellow guests you will have a day to remember!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2005

I couldn't have asked for a better place to pop the question. The staff was so helpful and courteous...they even helped me plan the evening (location, ambiance, etc.). If you can, stay in the Glenlivet room- extremely spacious and beautiful views. Right on the Whisky Trail, I highly recommend a 'nosing and tasting' from Glenlivet that can be arranged for you on site. Food is absolutely wonderful, the bar is stocked with anything you can imagine (including a whisky lover's dream inventory). Family run, and they make you feel like part of the family. I highly recommend this place, and will most certainly make another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2004

The meals are excellent, the hotel is beautiful and the owners are wonderful hosts. If you are visiting the Glenlivet distillery, plan to have lunch at the hotel. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the food outstanding.

If you are looking for a special experience, spend the day fishing with Yuri, you won't regret it. It was one of the best days I have ever spent fishing.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank F5983ALmatthewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nuremberg, Germany
24
Reviewed 26 September 2004

Nice location near Glenlivet Distillery.
Really good food - especially dinner!
Rooms are furnished were cheap - look like a 3-star hotel.
Very high price - we paid 195 GBP per night - which is about U$ 350.
Staff tends to be a bit unfriendly.
Though dinner and breakfast are great it is definitely not worth this high price!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Edinburgh, Scotland.
15
Reviewed 23 December 2003

The Minmore is a welcoming hotel in Speyside Scotland. It is an old country house with comfortable bedrooms, public rooms with log fires and an elegant dining room where the most delicious food is served.
Afternoon tea must not be missed. Victor and Lynne Janssen the proprieters are always available and helpful as are their staff.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Minmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minmore House

Address: Glenlivet AB37 9DB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Glenlivet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenlivet
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Minmore House Hotel Glenlivet
Minmore Hotel Glenlivet
Minmore House Glenlivet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing