We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of The Redgarth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oldmeldrum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Redgarth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Redgarth having looked for something different (and cheaper) than the options at the airport. Oldmeldrum is about 11 miles from Aberdeen airport and is located on the A947, which about a 15 minute drive if travelling outside the rush hour traffic.

As per other reviews, Stuart is a most welcoming host and makes you feel very welcome. The bedrooms have gone through recent renovations and the one I stayed in was very comfortable, being a mix of modern decoration and traditional furniture, with leather couch and armchair in a separate seating area, with high level window and electric blind.

Included in the room price is breakfast, which was a mix of lovely sliced ham and cheese, a mix of rolls, toast, croissant, cereal and fresh coffee. I struggled, as others, to finish it all and Stuart made a nice touch on the last morning making a fruit salad.

I ate in the restaurant for the three evenings, and the food was all very edible. The restaurant and bar area was really quite busy every night, with a mix of regulars and guests and many of the tables were reserved every night. The T-bone steak was great.

There is also plenty of free parking, which also makes a change from the expense of the airport hotels, with there impersonal feel and average service. I was also pleasantly surprised upon checkout when Stuart had advised I had been booked into one of the cheaper rooms, at £85 per night, when I had assumed it to be one of the more expensive options. A real bargain.

I return shortly for another few days and would not hesitate to recommend The Redgarth for either business travellers or somewhere to base yourself to explore the local area. Enjoy !

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fordy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
60
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I travel quite a bit and struggle to find hotels that offer the personal touch. I stumbled upon The Redgarth last year and I can honestly say it is the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in.

The hotel is part of village pub and draws people from far and wide for their delicious meals and atmospheric Inn. It has a very warm and friendly customer base. There is a large car park out front that is well lit and secure.

The owner, Stuart is clearly very passionate about his hotel and has invested heavily in renovating the rooms.

The rooms are very Swedish in my opinion. Large sky lights in the ceiling draw in the sunshine and the rooms are well spec'd with large TV, WiFi, desk ect.

This may not be the biggest hotel you will ever visit, nor the most expensive but if you travel to this area regularly I promise you it will be the ONLY hotel on your list.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Went there on Hogmanay with family and again impressed with lovely, well cooked food. It was extremely busy but this did not affect the service and provided a great atmosphere.
There was a piper at midnight and some fireworks in the gardens which was great fun.

My only criticism is the lack of toilet facilities for ladies( I cannot comment on the men's ). There are only 2 ladies toilets that I am aware of and with the amount of people there, this was definitely not enough. Also I assisted a disabled lady who was dining out with her husband and could not find a disabled toilet. This poor lady had quite a difficulty squeezing into the tiny toilet area, even with my help and this left her feeling quite guilty and distressed. I think this needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missush49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed for one night in middle Dec. and its just great !! Rooms newly done up and to a very high standard and very spacious.The owner Stewart very helpful and welcoming . Good meal at night .Will be returning next year for sure !!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank capricebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Redgarth was a real gem. Very warm welcome, friendly and efficient staff who, despite being very busy, still had time to smile and chat to the customers. Great atmosphere and excellent food. Our room was first class, well decorated and finished off. Grand finale was a lovely breakfast with a lovely view across the countryside to the hill of Bennachie. Thanks and well done to all of the team !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turraloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a wonderful and charming hotel, we stayed for one night and from the moment we arrived the host James (Stuarts son) and staff was very welcoming and helpful.

Our room had just been recently renovated and what a lovely surprise we got when we walked in. The room was beautiful - tastefully decorated, spacious, cosy, clean, fresh and had a fantastic bathroom.

Morning breakfast, our table was set up when we came down and what a lovely surprise to see the table all set up and the presentation of the breakfast was just lovely.

Overall we felt James went the extra mile for us during our stay - thank you

Room Tip: Choose the Beech Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOgilvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here recently and was a bit apprehensive when it was booked as it is described as an Inn & not a Hotel - could not have been more wrong - the service / rooms and food were simply brilliant - Stuart the owner is a walking information machine and is the perfect host - had the fortune of staying in one of the newly refurbished rooms and you simply could not get a better standard anywhere - my only complaint is that you cannot get a good old fashioned cooked breakfast - only option is continental which although it is healthier it is not always what you want - that is the only reason I would not award the full 5*

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WerdnerR302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
6.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
605 reviews
4.6 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
138 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
593 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redgarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redgarth

Property: The Redgarth
Address: Red Garth Kirk Brae, Oldmeldrum AB51 0DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our bar/lounge we have a variety of malt whiskies including a selection from our village distillery, Glen Garioch. In addition to a choice of draught lagers, stouts and cider we have three hand pumps providing some of the best cask conditioned ales in Scotland and the UK. We have a wine and ‘fine wine’ list for those looking for something special. There is free wi-fi available throughout the building.The Redgarth Bar opens seven days a week from 11am-3pm and 5pm-11pm (11.45pm Friday and Saturday)-RESTAURANT-Our menu is international in flavour with a strong hint of Scotland including a vegetarian selection. Menus are changed fortnightly and all meals are home cooked using fresh local produce.In addition to our main lounge we have a dining room which can be converted for use as a meeting/conference room.The Redgarth restaurant is currently open seven days a week from 12- 2pm and 5.30-9pm (9.30pm Friday and Saturday)ROOMS Our accommodation comprises of one twin and five double rooms all of which are furnished to 4 star Visit Scotland standard. Rooms are all non-smoking, en-suite and offer the usual refinements including colour television with hair-drying and tea making facilities including free-wi-fi. Situated on the first floor the rooms are self contained providing guests with ease of access at all times, our front rooms enjoy unsurpassed views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Redgarth Hotel Inverurie
The Redgarth Oldmeldrum, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing