We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Aberdeen!”
Review of The Meldrum Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Meldrum Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Oldmeldrum B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in Aberdeen!”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel is awful, worst hotel I have ever been in ever! RUDE STAFF - Indian man served us and he clearly didn't give a sh1ts! Can't believe this place even exists, awful!

Dirty sheets, dirty rooms, uncomfortable beds, rude staff... What else is there to say to discourage ANYONE staying here?

DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca3322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    5
    5
    27
See reviews for
3
6
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

No positives about this place at all,pictures on website do not relate on any way to room that I was allocated (rm 4) very run down,dirty & uncomfortable.All facilities are very lacking including staff attitude & the DIY breakfast.Spoke to other residents & they agreed with all & more of these comments,if you can avoid it do not stay here. PS £45.00 was what the stay cost per night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2101Sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oldmeldrum hotels

Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Filthy, manky, horrible place! Rooms are minging, staff don't speak english and are utterly rude! The Indian restuaurant is a joke! Wouldn't feed this food to my dog! Staff shaggin most of the local single mums!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ebeneezar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just got back from staying here for two nights and have an awful stomach bug convinced I picked something up from the room, which I felt hadn't be cleaned properly for a very long time! Totally over priced should have been half of what we paid and it is definitely not a 'continental' breakfast. I felt like was in a run down hostel- don't stay here!!

Room Tip: The Redgarth up the road is meant to be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlesst_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on a business trip as not much else in area. Awful place, totally run down, staff not around, must prepay on arrival and then no staff in morning. Small, threadbare dormitory room, with cold boxed cereal in AM at exorbitant price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TLicata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

i stayed in this hotel once and i really loved it. i dont no what the other reviews are on about. the staff were really nice and the room was of excellent condition. great value for money and the breakfast was good considering its complimentary. the indian also does good food. i will be going back if required and i recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haleeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed at this "hotel" because I was on business in the area.The welcome by the receptionist was o.k-but after that everything went downhill.Along winding walk upstairs to room 6(no lift) through a shabby corridor should have prepared me for the standard of room to expect.The room was very disappointing,a bit like someone,s back bedroom in an old pre war terraced house.The bathroom needed ripping out and I felt every spring in the mattress!There is no resteraunt here,was told to go next door to the Indian(which I did,nt)-sttled for a couple of pints in the bar instead.I should,nt have been suprised when the receptionist/barmaid and partner had an indian meal delivered and ate it at the end of the bar whilst glued to the t,v screen!The mens toilets downstairs are a disgrace with foul mouth graffiti gouged into the wall.Continental breakfast is a help yourself adventure,unpacking sliced bread from a pack and toasting it in a £5 toaster from Argos.The room cost £65,about £30 overpriced in my opinion!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galiniDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
5.8 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
625 reviews
4.3 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
612 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meldrum Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meldrum Arms

Property: The Meldrum Arms
Address: South Road, Oldmeldrum AB51 0AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oldmeldrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meldrum Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small but comfortable country inn nearby the Glen Garioch Distillery in the town of Old Meldrum. Set amidst beautiful countryside. An ideal base for exploring the Aberdeenshire countryside. Shooters, fishers and golfers are made most welcome by the friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Meldrum Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meldrum Arms Oldmeldrum, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing