We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good!”
Review of Thrums Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirriemuir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thrums Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Have had a few bar meals here lately & tried to give benefit of doubt but today confirmed how bad it is, food arrives quickly but orders were wrong barmaid is useless & not helpful or friendly, some of us were overcharged too, food is all bought in ,a friend had a hair in hers & did make them aware but no apology made, homemade food makes all the difference, really disappointed with the service & way we were treated today so I'm afraid what was a weekly lunch outing for us it will not be there again,I had better stop before I say any more but please don't waste your money! Poor show.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loopylee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

I haven't stayed here but have sampled the delicious bar lunches. Huge amount of choice at very reasonable prices. Everything from a toastie to a steak pie! Generous portions. Staff very attentive and friendly. Food arrived quickly. Despite the place being very busy when we arrived, our order was taken within 5 minutes. If you want some good honest food at very reasonable prices then this is the place to come.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaydee841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed with my sister for the only hot weekend of the scottish summer! The room was really nice with a modern ensuite and situated at the front of the building. There was wifi in the room and all over the hotel. The pub is a real local and there is also a nice lounge for residents who don't want to sit in their rooms. Breakfast was lovely and it is a friendly welcoming place. We didn't eat dinner here but meals are available. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We recently stayed in a family room for two nights. On the plus side ; the room was large, the location was great and the owner was very accommodating when we requested a late check out as we had our young daughter with us. Also our heavy cases were carried to our room. On the negative; the decor was a bit dated, the bathroom had black damp on the ceiling and the breakfast had a little to be desired.No real reception desk or area to be found. Quite expensive compared to standards at Premier Inn, when we stayed in Dundee.However, extremely close to the JM Barrie National Trust exhibition.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Have not stayed here so can not comment on the rooms but can recommend it for straight forward honest pub grub at reasonable prices. Ideal stop off for a reasonably priced lunch.

Room Tip: Remember this is a pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BillTft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The food at the Thrums Hotel is poor (microwaved/reheated). The interior is very tired and dated and the rooms are very much in need of refurbishment - very 1970s/80s. They are musty and smelly. The noise inside this hotel is terrible, especially at weekends. If you have a room at the front on the street you have no chance of getting a decent nights sleep. Noise from the bar, smokers at the front door and screaming, swearing and shouting in the street below made our stay a nightmare. There is no Smoking Area or beer garden, everyone just congregates on the pavement and road outside the front door...below the bedrooms. The noise is terrible. Avoid.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Avoid rooms on the street - Noise is terrible at weekends and pretty bad durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottishTraveller011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Didn't stay here but dropped in for a meal early one evening. The place was virtually deserted. Bog standard food which appeared suspiciously quickly, so I presume it was microwaved. No harm befell us but not a warm and positive experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyvernian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirriemuir hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
133 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Church House B & B
Church House B & B
#3 of 6 in Kirriemuir
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Muirhouses Farm B&B
Muirhouses Farm B&B
#5 of 6 in Kirriemuir
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Druminoch
Druminoch
#6 of 6 in Kirriemuir
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thrums Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrums Hotel

Address: 25 Bank Street, Kirriemuir DD8 4BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirriemuir
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of rural Angus; this charming town is celebrated for its location as the 'gateway' to the beautiful Angus Glens. The Thrums is situated in the heart of the town and offers quality accommodation and a welcoming, friendly atmosphere within charming surroundings. This family-run hotel, recently refurbished to high standard, has nine en-suite rooms. We have a selection of double, twin, single or family sized rooms to cater for all needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thrums Hotel Kirriemuir, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing