We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious home cooking”
Review of Falls of Holm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falls of Holm
Ranked #2 of 6 Kirriemuir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious home cooking”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a great find - I was looking for somewhere friendly, comfortable and warm as a base to stay whilst climbing a few local hills, and I was not disappointed. Elizabeth made me feel very welcome throughout my stay, and I took full advantage of her culinary skills, from the delicious tea and cakes provided on my arrival; through two very generous evening meals, to a couple of hearty Scottish breakfasts. A perfectly relaxing stay, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
75
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from a trip to Scotland and Northumberland. Here in Scotland we stayed at Falls of Holm and have to say from the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. Lovely tea and cakes on arrival and a lovely double aspect bedroom overlooking the lambs!! The room was so peaceful and the bed one of the comfiest we have ever slept in away from home. The breakfasts were fantastic - lovely choice of fruit salads yoghurts cereals etc and of course had to follow it with a a full cooked breakfast. One evening we took advantage of having the evening meal cooked by Elizabeth which was three courses of better than restaurant standard food! Would definitely aim to come here again and would have no hesitation of recommending this place to anyone! Book it! You will be totally spoiled and so looked after by Elizabeth and Willie - two lovely people. We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After a long day driving it was lovely to be welcomed by Elizabeth into her comfortable, warm B&B, with a cup of tea and home baked cake. The accommodation was roomy, spacious and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious - much more than we could comfortably eat (but we did because it was so good).
Thank-you Elizabeth and Willie for being so welcoming. We absolutely recommend Falls of Holm to anyone looking for a good nights sleep, and a great breakfast, lovely hosts and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our third time staying in this B&B. The reason we go back is it's child friendly- our four year old daughter was made most welcome, the owners are friendly, accommodation is spacious, breakfasts are freshly made and they would make just about anything for you, it's an extremely quiet location so no noise. Although it's a working farm, there are no sounds of animals as sound proofing is good. Could not recommend this place more. Just go!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Based on the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked 3 nights at Falls of Holm for a short spring holiday with our 4 year old daughter. We can only confirm what pretty much every other reviewer has said - the accommodation is spacious, clean and comfortable, the location is beautiful, the breakfasts are fresh and delicious and, above all, Elizabeth and Willie are the perfect hosts. The whole family had a fabulous time and can't wait to go back! This is the perfect base to explore this beautiful and unspoilt corner of Scotland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I had a family reason to visit Forfar in mid January. We knew Falls of Holm was 20 minutes drive from Forfar but were happy to book as we would arrive in evening and just have a meal and a quiet time before leaving the next morning. A country location B&B suited and this fitted the bill perfectly.
Elizabeth and Willie were welcoming while our room was superb - large, fully equipped with en-suite, tea/coffee and biscuits tray, beautiful views, plenty storage space if needed and as expected, spotless.
Given the time of year, we were the only guests and we enjoyed a great 3 course meal (with a bottle of wine we had taken with us) and then relaxed with a book and later, some TV, in the lounge. After a very good sleep, we were served an excellent Scottish breakfast including proper porridge.
Our stay at Falls of Holm was excellent, very good value, and set us up well for a long day ahead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovanout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night to escape house renovations and it was just perfect. Elizabeth gave us a really warm welcome - including home-made scones. The room was lovely, the bed was really comfy and the shower was fab. Next morning, an excellent cooked breakfast set us up for the day. Lovely place, can't wait to go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirriemuir
4.7 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
1.8 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Church House B & B
Church House B & B
#3 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muirhouses Farm B&B
Muirhouses Farm B&B
#5 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tigh Na Leigh
Tigh Na Leigh
#1 of 4 in Alyth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls of Holm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls of Holm

Property: Falls of Holm
Address: Kirriemuir DD8 5HY , Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirriemuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kirriemuir
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Falls of Holm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Of Holm Kirriemuir, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing