We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, Stunning room, great sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grey Gull Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ardrishaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Gull Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly, Stunning room, great sleep”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The room... I was put in a large room, number 3 if you can get it! very nice inside, comprised of a double bed and a single bed, large telly, clean bathroom, hot powerful shower, good mirror with lighting, comfy bed (8 hours sound sleep), nice artwork, just a nice atmosphere.

Getting the key... We were warmly welcomed by the owner on arrival, shown our room and explained the rules.

Food... Great food, great service, comfy lounge area and a wonderful Australian waitress. breakfast fresh and filling

Would i stay here again?... quite easily, the staff are very easy to get on with, there isn't really anything i can say thats negative for the price of the rooms.

Room Tip: Apart from some guy having a 4 poster bed in the other reviews, I would defiantly recommend room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    76
    26
    19
    11
See reviews for
43
64
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed recentlyat this hotel and would recommend as the best value in the area. We had a lovely room with four poster bed over looking the Loch. Bathrom was a little basic but had a great shower. Food in restaurant was good quality and well presented. Breakfast fresh and tasty. Heather, the owner and Barbera in the restaurant were most helpful. we would certainly stay again when in the area

Room Tip: Front facing room to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singinglassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The room was basic, but clean - apart from a smell of cigarette smoke in a non-smoking room.

The staff were friendly when it suited them, but, boy were we made to feel unwelcome when it came to the evening. Four of us had a meal in the restaurant and, to be fair, the food was very good. We’d finished our meal about 9.45ish and were having a nice chat over drinks. We asked for a glass of wine and were told that we couldn't have one because they'd cashed up - this made no sense as the food and drinks we'd already had were charged to our room. Then the owner just leaned on the bar and glared at us, clearly wanting us out of there. It was horrible. Appalling service and I would urge anyone not to bother going there until there are new owners or a new attitude.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Good food, reasonably priced. I've stayed in a lot of hotels; some are posher with 'better' facilities but none have felt homelier than this one. It would be nice to have normal toilet rolls instead of the single sheet dispensers in the rooms as they don't work very well but that is my only criticism - a minor one at that. I visited another more expensive hotel in the area but definitely preferred this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I live locally so have not stayed in the Grey Gull. My friend and I went out for a meal, which was fine. We had a couple of glasses of wine with our meal. The woman in charge repeatedly came up to us and started clearing the table, very obvious that she wanted us to leave - there were no other people in the dining room. She said that she could not leave us by ourselves in the dining room, as she had to stay there because of the bar. At 10.00 p m she came up and informed us that she would give us an extra 10 minutes as she was closing for the night, very poor for a Friday night in Ardrishaig - heaven help the tourists, what must they think?

If you are going for a meal, make sure you are out by 10.00 p m, or you will feel very uncomfortable and get the beady eye!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed here for three nights on business, June '12.
Positives: staff are friendly and attentive without being nosey or in your face.
food, good quantity and reasonable quality. Many locals eat here, which says a lot. The dinning room is spacious with enough room between tables to get electric wheelchairs between.
Room was clean and tidy. En suite was the width of the shower unit, but I treat a hotel room as somewhere to store my chattels and to sleep. The room was on the side of adequate rather than luxurious but had a loch view.
Parking was adequate but one night it was so busy with guests and diners I parked in a handy layby.

NEGATIVES the only one really was that the vegetarian menu was a bit dated/limited. Mushroom Stroganoff is easy to make, but boring to eat in my opinion. Thankfully, this years go to veggie dish of risotto was absent. A veg currie on the specials board was tasty, but needed some protein in the form of peanuts/cashews/snowpeas!

this makes a good base for all the local tourist sites

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyslexicPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have not stayed in the hotel as I live locally. The food is excellant and the staff welcoming. I will definately go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
1.2 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
132 reviews
9.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
400 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
102 reviews
20.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull Inn

Property: Grey Gull Inn
Address: Glenburn Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Hotel Ardrishaig
Grey Gull Ardrishaig
Grey Gull Inn Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing