We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxed and Welcoming Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grey Gull Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ardrishaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Gull Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Relaxed and Welcoming Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

'Stayed here on a Scot-Trek weekend break in March 2012. It's a friendly, family-owned hotel serving good food, including excellent cooked breakfasts. The bar is stocked with some very good local beers. It's an excellent base for activities on the Crinan Canal and exploring the area more generally.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemePurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    76
    26
    19
    11
See reviews for
44
64
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Twenty of us were accommodated at the Grey Gull for two nights for the purpose of attending a family wedding in Crear nr Tarbet. The hotel dealt reasonably efficiently with the onslaught. The rooms were spacious and clean but some aspects were on the worn side and on the morning of the wedding there was no hot water for an hour - think it ran out... and I was stuck under a cold shower trying to get soap out my hair and it wasn't that much fun! The cooked breakfast was top notch even though sadly the kippers were not available both mornings and there wasn't much on offer for vegetarians in the party.

Great spot - traditional and basic...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penandpalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Went to The Grey Gull Inn for lunch with friend from work, nice cosy table by the window. Menu choice not bad - a lot of options. I opted for fish and chips, nice fresh fish and presented well. Waitress/Receptionist friendly enough but needs to brush up on english and communication skills.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I spent 2 days in the Grey Gull in early January this year. It was a fantastic experience. The owners are a credit on hand most of the time, the food was superb, over the two days we had dinner on the first night and lunch on the second day and it was very, very good. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in a hotel, individually cooked by a very compitent chef. the room was very clean and very comfortable. Great experience all round and will be there again very shortly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyGBWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We were looking for a lunch and not much was open. The grey gull seemed a little inaccessible, no menu displayed outside and access via the hotel reception. However once in the menu choices and prices were reasonable. We had the battered haddock and chips. Good value, excellent fish. Great view from the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culbokie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Son and self stayed for one night prior to catching boat to Islay - everyone very cheery and helpful - Owner quite happy for me to leave one of our cars in carpark over the weekend, - Had a great short stay on Islay including trip out on new ferry, - Stayed on my own for one night on return to mainland, - Food at hotel all very fresh and tasty,- Staff made time to ensure that all was as it should be, - Owner very friendly and a great raconteur - Very open sort of person and an example that others should strive to emulate,- Got lots of information about people I knew many years ago from manageress,- An all round very pleasant stay and a real GEM.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garisdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Enjoyed an excellent lunch at this hotel. Great view of the Loch from the dining room. The food was delicious, plenty of it and nicely presented. Our waitress Michele was very attentive and looked after us very well. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
1.2 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
9.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
20.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gull Inn

Property: Grey Gull Inn
Address: Glenburn Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Grey Gull Hotel Ardrishaig
Grey Gull Ardrishaig
Grey Gull Inn Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing