We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Escape from reality......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allt-Na-Craig

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Allt-Na-Craig
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A True Escape from reality......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

What a fab place,and dog friendly too - it'll take my doggies an age to recover from all those lovely walks in this stunning location. Charlotte and Hamish provided perfect hospitality, very scrummy food, beautiful location and home from home comforts :o) Well done - I will certainly be recommending.
**PS (please have a word with David at Fletchers Deli in Tarbet) another great place and nowhere to add a review but a lovely place to while away an hour or so with a coffee overlooking the harbour :o)

Room Tip: My single room had a side view over the garden, but was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeloving1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    25
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
49
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Charlotte & Hamish are very friendly hosts. We were of group of 13 people and filled the complete house.
The dinner was excellent, freshly cooked. For breakfast they prepared sandwiches because we had to leave very early.
The house is beautiful in Victorian style. I enjoyed the room with whirlpool and sea view!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here on our Honeymoon part II, back in November 2010. I had been researching west coast hotels and B & Bs which had a whirlpool or jacuzzi, and found this place. The downside of everything was that it poured non-stop for a couple of days on our holiday. Ach well. Easy to find with Mr SatNav, and the house has a nice entrance to it with plenty of car parking. Greeted warmly by Hamish and shown to our great room upstairs. Very cosy and comfy with classy furniture, a nice bed, and a very good bathroom (with aforementioned whirlpool bath thing). Our ceiling had a little leak, which might have been the plumbing above, as Hamish got right on it and had a look outside at the roof. We ate later on at the Argyll Arms Hotel a few minutes away and had a great meal, and the atmosphere was local and friendly.
Breakfast was nice in a big room, and you really get to see lots of what Hamish and Charlotte like as you wander around checking out their trinkets and collections. A nice stay, was not cheap, but then I knew what I was paying when I booked. Would like to go back, at least to see what the area looks like in the sun.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pidpads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here for one night in June 2011. While the accommodation was acceptable it was nothing to write home about - and certainly not worth the money we paid. The decor was quite dated and a bit shabby in places. We found the host grumpy and surly. As soon as we registered, we felt we were an inconvenience to him. We went for a drink at the nearby Grey Gull Hotel, where we bumped into and chatted with another couple also staying at Allt na Craig who also found the host similarly grumpy. Clearly people-skills were not his strong point. The evening meal at Allt na Craig was very mediocre, too. A shame as this is a lovely part of the world, superb location and the house itself has so much potential.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightfoot2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNScotland, Owner at Allt-Na-Craig, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
After a detailed search or our records we believe this to be a hoax review. Clearly, someone recognises the excellent services provided at competitive prices here at Allt-Na-Craig House, and feels the need to publish a review that is completely outside our character. ( see the other reviews here.) It is certainly not in our interest to be grumpy or surly. So please be assured of a very warm welcome at Allt-Na-Craig House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is an old country house that overlooks the loch and is kept in very good condition. We liked the intimate dining room, the views, and especially the location. From Ardrishaig you can easily do a north or south loop back to the hotel. The best part of our stay was that Hamish and Charlotte are such accommodating and friendly hosts. Since this was our first visit to the area, without Hamish's recommendations for what to see and do our stay would not have been as wonderful as it was. The breakfast and dinner meals that Charlotte cooks are very appealing and plentiful. In room coffee and tea and free wireless internet are both very welcome bonuses.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retired1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay with Charlotte & Hamish,wonderfull food especialy the breakfasts,so varied and tasty,attention to detail was first class.
Hamish was invalueable in his help with the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terryfalcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding at nearby Crear. Hamish and Charlotte were most welcoming and helpful hosts. The weather was wet but on a clear day the views must be magnificent over the loch.
Hamish even took us and another couple into Ardishaig to catch the bus organised for the wedding
We stayed in a standard room which was well furnished but the superior rooms have better views.
The breakfast was fresh with a good variety of options for all tastes

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
8.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
4.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
9.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
10.4 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 3 in Tighnabruaich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-Na-Craig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-Na-Craig

Property: Allt-Na-Craig
Address: Altnacraig Tarbert Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Allt-Na-Craig 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Allt-Na-Craig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Craig Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing