We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Allt-Na-Craig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Allt-Na-Craig
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had a long wet drive from Oban to Allt-Na-Craig, so the warm welcome we received from Hamish and Charlotte was very much appreciated. The house, of Kenneth Graham - Wind in the Willows fame, has been beautifully restored and overlooks the Loch. The full Scottish breakfast and kippers we were served made our day. We were not familiar with the details of the ferry service to and from Islay so the advice that Hamish provided us with was invaluable. If we hadn't booked our return trip as soon as we arrived on the island we might still be waiting to return to the mainland. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOFFSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    26
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
54
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We arrived after a long drive and were greeted by Hamish before being shown to our room. We had a fantastci dinner and met Charlotte (Hamish's other half) who kindly provided useful advice about the Aga that we were about to encounter for our week elsewhere in the Highlands. We had a lovely stay, very relaxing and such great hospitality. We would love to return one day.

Room Tip: Select a room at the front for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Arrived here after a hard day's cycle from Oban, to find a very warm welcome. Had a good room, with a lovely big bath to relax in. Dinner was lovely sitting looking out over Loch Fyne. Would definitely recommend and return if we go back to this area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatingAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed over a weekend in order to attend a wedding at Crear (stunning location, and wedding ). When we arrived we were met by Hamish with a lovely welcome and that set the tone for the rest of the stay, good home cooked food, excellent breakfast and a really super atmosphere, yes the bed was a little soft but the view from our room more than made up for that . All in all a great experience

Room Tip: Buchanan has a brilliant view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A very friendly and comfortable place to stay and enjoy this part of the country. Wonderful location and beautiful view at breakfast time. I would definitely visit again when over this part of the country. It was more than a hotel, just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great location, what a superb view.
Customer service like a 5 star hotel.
A great place to relax. The owner was full of tips of places to stay and things to do.
If you are heading to the Mull of Kintyre, this is a good place to break your journey.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is a very nice hotel. Victorian house set in its own grounds. Views over Loch Gilp. The owners were pleasant and attentive. The room was comfortable (Stewart) and looked out over the Loch. Dinner was an option if pre booked in advance. Due to other arrangements dinner was not taken. Breakfast was traditional full Scottish complete with Haggis. Other menu options were also offered All very tasty. Cereals,tea,toast and juices were all available. This hotel was comfortable and the hosts were very welcoming. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend hotel.

Room Tip: Stewart had a nice few of the Loch. Also had shutter windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
4.1 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
282 reviews
8.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
6.3 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,453 reviews
9.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
444 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-Na-Craig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-Na-Craig

Property: Allt-Na-Craig
Address: Tarbert Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Allt-Na-Craig 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your Allt-Na-Craig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Craig Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing