We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many good features slightly spoiled by quirks and pricing”
Review of Allt-Na-Craig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allt-Na-Craig
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Allt-na-Craig has much to recommend it: a pleasant loch-side setting; a smiling host & hostess; good home-cooking, (including dinner on request); a drawing room with a view and plentiful parking. Some rooms are cheerfully decorated - and when the weather changed for the worse, were well-heated. BUT, the undulating bed in the 'best' room should have been replaced some time ago by one less likely to encourage muscle spasm and insomnia. The room did not live up to expectation or description as 'de luxe' because of the deteriorating condition of the bed (and wardrobe). The breakfast is generally good and well cooked, yet we were at a loss to understand why supplements and excess charges were needed. Having stayed on the edges of Loch Fyne before, it was a first to have to pay extra for Loch Fyne kippers! And as one guest put it, excess charges - however small - for 'too many' cooked items for breakfast are irksome. It made us feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Not sure where Hans B was staying, but his review doesn't sound anything like Allt Na Craig, perhaps he thought he was booked into a "Premier Inn" with 24 hour room service. On our stay Hamish and Charlotte couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful, the room was clean, comfortable, and a well stocked hospitality tray. When we needed to breakfast earlier than normal (admitedly not as early as 7am), our hosts could not have been more obliging. We would certainly stay there again, and would recommend this guesthouse unreservedly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Upon arrival we got a somewhat less than genuine greeting - I guess this is somewhat to be expected with the number of visitors. The bed was uncomfortable (had a significant bow in the middle). We needed to leave early the next morning (7 am) so they put together a sandwich bag, which was ok but I was hoping for something a bit more like breakfast. Overall the decor is tired and had a slightly funky odour. Definitely not a highlight on our otherwise wonderful experiences in our travels in Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This is the second time i have stayed here - a genuinly nice guesthouse run by a very pleasent couple.
The building is from the victorian period, and the owners have the decor to match, ive seen other reviews say they should update - i feel the furnishings really match the building and give it character.

I was only here for one evening, and as i start work early i was kindly offered a packed lunch to take with me - very generous indeed.

I'll be back here again & again.

5 star!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightfireuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is super, with lovely rooms, fantastic views and really good food. I can recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this part of Scotland. The house is Victorian and the owners have furnished it in the style befitting such a house. So the furniture is dated but the rooms are spotless and the whole experience was extremly comfortable. Can you ask for more of a B & B in the far flung corners of Scotland?

Room Tip: Rooms at the front (we stayed in the "Stewart" room) have great views over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a beautiful victorian guesthouse with great views over the loch (we stayed in room Stewart). The owners are most helpful with information about the area and where to travel to. Also, dinner and breakfast were both amazing, prepared with an Aga cooker. We asked for a gluten free dinner and the owners were very accomodating, with no extra charges. The bathroom was renovated and very nice. Rooms were very clean. We can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Setareh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The room we stayed in needed a little revamping. It was small, yet clean and tidy, the shower-room was tiny yet functional. The breakfast was good and the hosts were very friendly. The view over the loch is pleasant, and overall it was average to good, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
3.7 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
287 reviews
8.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
10.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,500 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
478 reviews
10.8 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-Na-Craig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-Na-Craig

Address: Tarbert Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range: £112 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allt-Na-Craig 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allt-Na-Craig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Craig Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing