We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great food and open fires”
Review of Allt-Na-Craig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allt-Na-Craig
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2010

This small family run hotel is well worth the effort to battle with the ice and snow to get there.
Very warm welcome from Hamish and Charlotte's fantiastic cooking.
This little corner of Scotland is beautiful and well worth exploring and Allt-na-Craig provides the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2009

After a 10 hour drive, we arrived at Allt Na Craig very tired. After checking in we asked about breakfast times, and were told last orders for cooked breakfast was 'absolutely no later than 9.15'. We advised the host it had been a very long trip and that we had hoped for maybe a later breakfast, to which he replied 'they had other things to do... like feed the horses'(!?) I wondered whether the horses were paying £90 per night for their bed and breakfast. The hotel appeared fairly empty as we had not seen or heard anyone else. We missed breakfast, and on leaving the hotel the next morning to find a shop, my partner was stopped by the host and told off for apparently 'locking the front door' when we came in the night before. We had simply pulled the door behind us when coming in and had not tampered with the door as had been implied.
We were staying at the hotel for a wedding in the area, and did not return until the early hours of the morning. We were aware that check out was 11 am but with it being such a late night we were slightly late checking out the next day. Whilst checking out, my partner apologised for the slight delay, to which the hostess replied in a rather stroppy manner that we had messed up their whole day! We are a fairly young couple, but were polite, quiet and considerate of any fellow guests for our entire stay. I felt that our hosts were inflexible and in no way accomodating of our needs, and on top of this i felt that at times they were actually rather rude and condescending. We were paying guests, and as such do not expect to be 'told off' like naughty children for really rather insigninficant things. Incidentally, i did not think the accomodation was worth the £45 pp per night, I have stayed in many nicer, more accomodating hotels that were not as expensive. The Grey Gull also in Ardrishaig was nicer, friendlier, more accomodating better located, and CHEAPER.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNScotland, Owner at Allt-Na-Craig, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2010

Many thanks for your review of the Allt-Na-Craig Hotel. We are naturally very disappointed and surprised that you left with such an unfavourable impression and particularly sorry that you felt unable to bring any of your dissatisfactions to our attention before leaving our guest house.
At checked in, your partner advised us that you were not early risers and neither you or your partner asked for a late breakfast; we did indeed remind you that our last orders for a cooked breakfast is 9.15AM but continental breakfast is however available until 10am as our check-out is at 11am. I know you will understand that in addition to our care of guests, we have a family to look after and animals including horses to feed. But this also includes turning the house around for incoming guests wanting an early arrival for the same wedding. Now I did indeed speak to you and all our guests to reminded guests of the importance of locking the external doors and how the locks work as in the past, other guests have had difficulty with this in the recent past.

We were delighted to hear from all the other guests at breakfast on the Sunday morning that the wedding was a great success. Indeed, we had to wake you at 11.30 to remind you about check out times and you did manage to check out at 12.30. I know that you will appreciate that when our next guests are wanting to check in to the room that is still occupied, they understandably feel aggrieved especially after a long journey from the south of England.

Please be assured that we do value all our customers and take every comment to heart. We can’t please everyone all the time and particularly when outgoing and incoming guests compete for the same room on the same day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

After having a terrible experience at a nearby hotel we managd to find a room available in this wonderful little gem. Hamish and Charlotte were so accommodating and we wished we had booked our whole trip here. The house is beautiful and the view over the Loch from our window in the 'Gordon' room was spectacular.
Charlotte makes the most amazing food cooked on the wonderful aga and it truly is a home from home. We will definately be recommending to all our friends and family and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshBird07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My Wife and I booked the "Buchanan" room overlooking the Loch for two nights. Amazingly comfortable bed, we both slept incredibly well. Hamish is a walking tourist information office and made sure we did not waste anytime in getting to some of the best scenery we have ever seen. The glorious sunshine was a real bonus. Charlotte kept us well fed on a very tasty and filling breakfast that kept us going pretty much until evening. Only sorry we had to head home.

Highly recommended

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank JBG600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Hamish and Charlotte made our family so welcome that we would happily have stayed another week if we could! We will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend their place as an ideal base for families touring the Highlands and Western Isles. We stayed in the cosy and well-equipped self catering Coach House that adjoins the main guest house. The Nicols' welcome was warm and the service thoughtful and kind throughout our week. We felt very welcome and comfortable with their family and so enjoyed Charlotte's delicious home-cooked meals that one of us put on a whole stone in 7 nights! Our 8 year old loved the wildlife nearby and the local scenery is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellieEastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Recently had a one night stay here. The hotel was welcoming and clean. We had the superior room which was nice but perhaps it needs a new bed! The view was great and the lounge is relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

After a long day travelling the welcome was warm and friendly. Although the restaurant had closed for the evening, Charlotte & Hamish kindly provided a late supper in the dining room. I was even able to get wine to settle the dust of the day.
The views over the loch were fantastic, and the dining room provided a spectacular view.

I was leaving for the first ferry to Islay the next morning and would not be able to have breakfast before I left. No problem, a take away lunch was provided for me.

The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the internet access (included in the price of the stay) was certainly up to "speed".

All in all, a very pleasant and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cken55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardrishaig
0.8 mi away
Grey Gull Inn
Grey Gull Inn
#2 of 2 in Ardrishaig
215 reviews
4 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
8.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
465 reviews
10.5 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
280 reviews
20.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allt-Na-Craig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allt-Na-Craig

Address: Tarbert Road, Ardrishaig PA30 8EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardrishaig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardrishaig
Price Range: £114 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allt-Na-Craig 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Allt-Na-Craig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allt-Na-Craig Ardrishaig, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing