We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much beer not enough time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fyne Ales

Fyne Ales
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Cairndow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fyne Ales is located on a working farm in Argyll at the head of Loch Fyne, an area renowned for its excellent natural produce. We are a team who are passionate about brewing outstanding and progressive craft ales.We have a great bar on site, where you can sit and enjoy a tasting flight of a selection of our beers, or a few pints of your favourite. We also serve beef pies made from our own highland beef, which is also available to buy in the shop. Brewery tours can be arranged when the Brewers are available.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too much beer not enough time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Superb beers friendly staff great tour take home bottles food brilliant interesting how the beer is made and the afters recycled dogs will be happy

Helpful?
Thank willywoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    30
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Ale and a warm welcom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Came past here after seeing the sign from the road....

As you walk in the selection on the wall is impressive. We sat down for the tasters of 1/3 pints of those on Tap. Certainly preferred the darker ale (Maverick & Highlander) from the lighter ones (Rune & Jarl), but that is just my preference. The Rune is seasonal and just available when the Hops they use are available. Seating outside or inside, the bar area is tasteful and the staff is friendly. Pulling the selection in less than 1/3 rds for us with no issue.

Nice lay-out with the bar stools and the couple of tables inside, certainly not to be a huge place for big parties, probably the reason one lane road so the coaches can't get in :) as it will certainly ruin it.

Will come here again for sure to taste the other beer on offer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oiltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Only popped in to see where the place was and on the off chance there might be a shop. Will try to have a bite next time and maybe do the tour. Fantastic place!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fridayeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fyne Place to drop into”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We're regulars here as my hubby loves their ale. It has a nice welcoming feel about the place & the added bonus that dogs are allowed in the bar as well as the courtyard. Staff really helpful and in a beautiful part of the world.
Also went to the Fyne Fest for first time this year too organised in and held at Fyne Brewery - well worth trying out this beer, music & food festival in 2015 if you haven't already.
Only negative thing I can say is the food on offer is very limited and overpriced for portion sizes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Glad we came! Brewery tour recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were staying in Inveraray and wanted to investigate the local brew. So glad we did. For a small fee, we had a tour around the old brewery while the shiny new state of the art one is being built. It was nice to see the original site and hear about its story. Returning to the small bar for some tasters and an informal lesson on the flavours of the ales, it was then our duty to buy some for sharing with friends at home. I wish them luck and hope I can find some Hurricane jack and Jarl available without the long trip to Scotland.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank claresussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fyne Ales also viewed

Cairndow, Argyll and Bute
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Benmore, Cowal Peninsula
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Fyne Ales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing