We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury, comfort and fabulous hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thistle House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cairndow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Luxury, comfort and fabulous hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have just stayed for a weekend, Jennifer and Alistair deserve the highest accolade for perfect hosting; nothing is too much trouble but discrete and non intrusive. We were greeted warmly in the tasteful lounge, fresh scones and tea and roaring fire. The accommodation is a beautifully decorated country house with unbelievable views of the Loch. Quality and comfort is the theme, no expense spared. Special mention to our far too comfortable bedroom, the memorable breakfast of quality local produce, cooked to perfection. Alistair kindly taxied us to and from our evening dinner reservations - now that is service! Beautiful place, lovely people. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolatrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
179
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

A perfect start to a tour of Scotland. Spacious comfortable lounge, with books, maps etc, where we were welcomed with tea and home made biscuits.....true Scottish hospitality. Nee Campbell, there was only one room to choose, and it did not disappoint, with views over the loch to Inverarry opposite. Very comfortable bed, well appointed bathroom. Some rooms faced the back garden, but I am sure that all the rooms are of an excellent standard, very clean , welcoming and tastefully decorated.
The breakfasts were very very good, served by pleasant staff.
The owners were friendly, helpful and good company. We had knowledgeable advice about eating places, tourist attractions etc.....all the little things which ease one effortlessly into a holiday. We enjoyed our few days in their first class small hotel/guest House, and would have no hesitation in recommending Thistle House . We also considered the cost to be excellent value for money. Go there!

Room Tip: Any room , I am sure, will not disappoint. Certainly the loch facing rooms have the most appeal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoCountryMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have just enjoyed a 2 day stay here. We were welcomed warmly by Jennifer & Alistair shown our beautiful room on the first floor overlooking Loch Fyne and then served coffee & home made biscuits in the luxurious, homely lounge complete with roaring fire. Everything you could want was made available, laptop, books & magazines, TV in the lounge. In the beautifully decorated rooms again all you would need was there but we loved the lounge so enjoyed sitting in there both evenings with a bottle of wine. It was just what the doctor ordered! a lovely relaxing stay in a perfect location. Thankyou both very much.

Room Tip: I don't think anybody would get anything less than excellent in any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here 6 nights for birthday treat and much needed relaxing break. This is a handsome house in a peaceful, picturesque spot overlooking Loch Fyne in the tiny hamlet of St Catherine's. Welcomed by genuine, friendly, attentive hosts Jennifer and Alistair. Stayed in 2nd floor Campbell Room (top floor). Really lovely room with everything you could need and more (such as DVD library and playing cards). Also had use of the large guest lounge with roaring open fire. Free wi-fi and if you haven't got your pc, there's a good Dell laptop available to use. Delicious breakfast using local produce; not a butter pat or jam portion in sight! Instead, fresh butter and a vast array of conficture from locally based Fyne Preserves. 11 miles from Inverary, 10 miles from Arrochar, several lovely places to eat more locally. Also has its own bit of history being the place you could catch a coach (and horses) after disembarking the ferry from Inverary to whisk you over Hell's Glen to get the ferry/coach to Glasgow!! A truly wonderful b&b with excellent service, food and facilities

Room Tip: Campbell Room on the top (2nd) floor has a 4-poster bed and views of Loch Fyne
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaiT_mmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Thistle house guest house is overwhelmingly beautiful. It's location is superb with extensive loch fyne views, even from my bedroom! The owners Allistar and Jeniffer and lovely, welcoming, Scottish and so helpful. My room was amazing and clean. Breakfast was delicious. I loved staying here and would HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviebonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed one night at Thistle House and were so pleased with our room. Spacious, clean -- lovely! Our hostess was delightful, and our breakfast terrific! The location is lovely. Our room overlooked Loch Fyne.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights when attending a wedding locally.

The team who run the venue are excellent and drove us to the wedding so that we didn't have to worry about our car.

The rooms are all uniquely deocrated and appointed which adds a nice touch to the stay. It was so nice to be able to relax in a room that didnt feel like a hotel.

Breakfast was fantastic with the best local produce being freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairndow
1.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
#2 of 2 in Cairndow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 16 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House Guest House

Property: Thistle House Guest House
Address: St Catherines | Inverary, Cairndow PA25 8AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cairndow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle House sits on the shores of Loch Fyne in the small village of St Catherines. Many of our bedrooms overlook the loch over to Inveraray and its castle. We are perfectly situated on the west coast of Scotland to enjoy the wonderful Cowal Peninsula and many west coast islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thistle House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Guest House Cairndow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing