We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spledid views with warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thistle House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cairndow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spledid views with warm hospitality”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We spent only a night en route from Loch Lomond to the West. This B&B situated on the shores of Loch Fyne has glorious views of the loch and beyond to Inverary. Seems isolated but if you're already in the Highlands, this is bliss. It has a very cosy living room (with a nice warm fire on in the freplace) and breakfast was truly a real Scottish experience. Nice and clean generally.The landlady and her husband were very warm and friendly. Made our brief stay just fantastic.

Room Tip: Room above the living room facing the loch has a rather small en suite WC/shower area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriskross18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
185
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

From the beautiful setting to the cozy and inviting rooms, to the service of the wonderful hosts - everything was perfect at this B&B and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. An extra plus for me was that the hosts insisted on carrying my mother's luggage up to her room and back to the car, a service that we didn't receive in many expensive hotels. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

On the shore on Loch Fyne opposite Inveraray. This lovely old Scottish home has been well kept, is well appointed and has a beautiful outlook. Although the closest restaurant is a 5 minute drive, the experience of staying at this guest house is worth it, plus Jennifer & Alistair were extremely good hosts. Breakfast was outstanding.

Room Tip: Quiet, a little remote, but paradise if that is what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Thistle house is a lovely B&B. My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Islay. The location is very picturesque and the bed and breakfast fits right in. Each room is named after a different Scottish Clan and was nicely decorated. Jennifer was a lot of fun and we really enjoyed our stay. The different jams with breakfast were amazing! The bedroom and bathroom were both very spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anf720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This is a lovely B&B in a great location, with wonderful views. Jennifer and Alastair are very welcoming and gracious hosts. The room was big, comfortable and well appointed. The beds are comfy with good pillows. Breakfast was terrific. All in all, good value and we strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute booking and we were so happy that we did. The welcome that we got was wonderfull. We were shown into the livingroom where the husband was lighting the roaring fire. It is beautifully decorated throughout the whole house. When shown to our room the furnishes where tastefully done. The view over the loch was breath taking. We were informed of where the local restaurants were and we opted for the one down the road at the creggens inn. This place is highly recommended very very tasty food. Recommend booking as it was very busy. Value for money as well.
On the next day we came down to breakfast and were shown to the dining room the range of food was excellent. There was homemade yoghurt which was lovely. There was a selection of cereals and fruit juices. The hot breakfast was cooked to perfection. The lovely woman of the house (whose name I have shamefully forgotten as this point in time) could not do enough. We ate so much we where full to the brim. We would highly recommend coming here and we will be back for sure. It is definitely value for money you will not be disapointed.
Looking forward to a repeat visit. See you soon

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay here last week. Lovely house. Big comfy Lounge with fire. Perfect for relaxing with tea and scones. Room was lovely and the views amazing. Breakfast was also delicious and perfectly presented despite the snow knocking the power out briefly. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriaoliver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairndow
1.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
11.4 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
638 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
665 reviews
15.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House Guest House

Property: Thistle House Guest House
Address: St Catherines | Inverary, Cairndow PA25 8AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cairndow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle House sits on the shores of Loch Fyne in the small village of St Catherines. Many of our bedrooms overlook the loch over to Inveraray and its castle. We are perfectly situated on the west coast of Scotland to enjoy the wonderful Cowal Peninsula and many west coast islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thistle House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Guest House Cairndow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing