We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistle house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thistle House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cairndow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Great views and comfy room. Breakfast was soooooo good. Location fine if you don't mind driving. Very welcoming hosts.
Plenty to see and do around Loch Fyne, would advise eating at Inver Cottage and visiting The George at Inverary.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and can heartily recommend it. The hosts are marvelous, the room (Lamont) was spacious and in tip-top shape, and breakfast options were varied and high-quality (products are locally-sourced whenever possible, including Jenifer's home-made yogurt). The lounge is very inviting with its comfortable seating and wood fire. The view across Loch Fyne to Inveraray could not be more picturesque. Thistle House is in an excellent location for exploring the region--castles, gardens, hill walking, etc. Several fine restaurants are a short drive away. Jenifer and Alastair know what they're doing and the result makes for a first-rate country B&B. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Lamont is a suite with a single bed in the second room, which is handy for a three-some or if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ras15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We spent only a night en route from Loch Lomond to the West. This B&B situated on the shores of Loch Fyne has glorious views of the loch and beyond to Inverary. Seems isolated but if you're already in the Highlands, this is bliss. It has a very cosy living room (with a nice warm fire on in the freplace) and breakfast was truly a real Scottish experience. Nice and clean generally.The landlady and her husband were very warm and friendly. Made our brief stay just fantastic.

Room Tip: Room above the living room facing the loch has a rather small en suite WC/shower area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriskross18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

From the beautiful setting to the cozy and inviting rooms, to the service of the wonderful hosts - everything was perfect at this B&B and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. An extra plus for me was that the hosts insisted on carrying my mother's luggage up to her room and back to the car, a service that we didn't receive in many expensive hotels. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuchsila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

On the shore on Loch Fyne opposite Inveraray. This lovely old Scottish home has been well kept, is well appointed and has a beautiful outlook. Although the closest restaurant is a 5 minute drive, the experience of staying at this guest house is worth it, plus Jennifer & Alistair were extremely good hosts. Breakfast was outstanding.

Room Tip: Quiet, a little remote, but paradise if that is what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Thistle house is a lovely B&B. My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Islay. The location is very picturesque and the bed and breakfast fits right in. Each room is named after a different Scottish Clan and was nicely decorated. Jennifer was a lot of fun and we really enjoyed our stay. The different jams with breakfast were amazing! The bedroom and bathroom were both very spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anf720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This is a lovely B&B in a great location, with wonderful views. Jennifer and Alastair are very welcoming and gracious hosts. The room was big, comfortable and well appointed. The beds are comfy with good pillows. Breakfast was terrific. All in all, good value and we strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeasonedTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairndow
1.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,541 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
712 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
446 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
#2 of 2 in Cairndow
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House Guest House

Address: St Catherines | Inverary, Cairndow PA25 8AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cairndow
Price Range: £85 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle House sits on the shores of Loch Fyne in the small village of St Catherines. Many of our bedrooms overlook the loch over to Inveraray and its castle. We are perfectly situated on the west coast of Scotland to enjoy the wonderful Cowal Peninsula and many west coast islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thistle House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Guest House Cairndow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing