We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thistle House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cairndow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

this was our luxury stay in England the night we wanted to indulge ourselves
the house was excellent with great views over the lake .
had a great meal at inn and watched a great sunset
if you want the perfect romantic stay this is it

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This was a surprise for my fiancé. We both really enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful and the views stunning. Plenty to do round about, with Inveraray just over the Loch, with some lovely little shops and nice restaurants. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Looking forward to coming back. Still trying to find our wedding venue and this guest house has been added to the list.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of August 2013. Despite the B&B being full, there was a warm and friendly welcome. The room we stayed in wasn't large, with a tiny bathroom, but it had a nice view across the loch. The main lounge is lovely. Large and spacious: a relaxing place to make use of the wine glass and corkscrew that are there.

Breakfast was spot on. Great choice and well cooked, with, again, friendly service.
We were thinking of giving it 4 and a half stars because of the small bathroom, but the warmth and high level of service makes it feel wrong to do this.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottmfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Best breakfast ever lots of choice from full Scottish and cereal, beautiful views over the loch and lovely rooms comfy beds and modern bathrooms. Welcoming hosts and I highly recommend for any stay. No problem when we arrived late at night. Thumbs up alround :) ✅

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWG305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great view to the Loch Fyne. We liked the nice room. we had a room with loch-view. we loved this lounge with the fire. breakfast was great too. fresh fruits and large selection of different types of breakfast. but it is expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I can honestly say that I will not stay in a better B+B where the the owners go more than out of there way to look after your every need. The house is perfect, the location is perfect, the breakfasts were perfect, I cannot praise Jennifer and Alastair highly enough.

I stayed with my wife and in laws for three nights and it was not long enough. If you are looking in this area for a B+B then dont look any further as this is the one for you. I dont give praise cheaply but believe me Thistle House and Jennifer and Alastair have more then earned it.

Thank you so much for three great nights and one day we would love to return.

Paul.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family & l stayed loved our stay here. The owners were friendly & welcoming. The house is perfectly situated with great views over the loch to Inveraray. Our room (Ferguson with double bedroom & adjoining twin) was excellent - spotlessly clean & beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious, including Jenifer's homemade yoghurt & the packed lunches she made up for us were great. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We hope to be back again in summer - promise to bring Jenifer some Ayrshire tatties :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRM,Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairndow
1.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,541 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
712 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
446 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
Cairndow Stagecoach Inn
#2 of 2 in Cairndow
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House Guest House

Address: St Catherines | Inverary, Cairndow PA25 8AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairndow
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cairndow
Price Range: £85 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle House sits on the shores of Loch Fyne in the small village of St Catherines. Many of our bedrooms overlook the loch over to Inveraray and its castle. We are perfectly situated on the west coast of Scotland to enjoy the wonderful Cowal Peninsula and many west coast islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thistle House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Guest House Cairndow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing