We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

Cairndow Oyster Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Cairndow
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went back to the Loch Fyne Oyster Bar with high expectations, having had several excellent meals over the years, especially one last October which was superb. We were disappointed this time by the very poor choice on the menu and by relatively high prices. The service was good enough (none of the offhandedness mentioned in other reviews), but they had got our reservation down for the wrong day; as a consequence we were put in an annexe all by ourselves, which I do not find very convivial - I don't want to chat to other diners, but I do like a better atmosphere than dining alone.

We shan't be back, I fear, unless things improve. A pity, because a trip to that part of the world has always been a pleasure in the past.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return trip just as good as the first”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

An excellent return visit to the Oyster Bar. Food superb, staff attentive and atmosphere buzzing for a lunchtime. Has been decorated/renovated since our last visit and has a lovely light airy feel to the place now. Deli also been improved with excellent choices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Oyster bar & Restaurant at Cairndow overlooking Loch Fyne is one of the best seafood restaurants I have eaten in, on a visit last week we had smoked salmon followed by scallops, truly delicious.
The interior has been re furbished to a good standard and looks very welcoming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nansi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was ok.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I enjoyed my meal, but my boyfriend did not like it at all. I had the prawns that were absolutely delicious. A little over priced, but to be honest this is the price we have paid in most restaurants while visiting Scotland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rather Poor.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Food was average, no better than the other Loch Fyne restaurants. Service was terrible. Will not be returning and would not recommend. Very expensive for average meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairndow Oyster Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairndow, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Cairndow Oyster Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing