We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best oysters, salmon and crab”

Cairndow Oyster Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Cairndow
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Kirkham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply the best oysters, salmon and crab”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just fantastic. The best ever oysters, crab claws and smoked salmon ever. Islay scallops, rib eye beef..... Want to go back very soon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Overpriced and I object to paying around £4 for a small bowl of overcooked vegetables (contained a few asparagus stalks, but no tips!). Had run out of the local beer. Staff had not tested the menu and were unable to describe the sauces.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went back to the Loch Fyne Oyster Bar with high expectations, having had several excellent meals over the years, especially one last October which was superb. We were disappointed this time by the very poor choice on the menu and by relatively high prices. The service was good enough (none of the offhandedness mentioned in other reviews), but they had got our reservation down for the wrong day; as a consequence we were put in an annexe all by ourselves, which I do not find very convivial - I don't want to chat to other diners, but I do like a better atmosphere than dining alone.

We shan't be back, I fear, unless things improve. A pity, because a trip to that part of the world has always been a pleasure in the past.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return trip just as good as the first”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

An excellent return visit to the Oyster Bar. Food superb, staff attentive and atmosphere buzzing for a lunchtime. Has been decorated/renovated since our last visit and has a lovely light airy feel to the place now. Deli also been improved with excellent choices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Oyster bar & Restaurant at Cairndow overlooking Loch Fyne is one of the best seafood restaurants I have eaten in, on a visit last week we had smoked salmon followed by scallops, truly delicious.
The interior has been re furbished to a good standard and looks very welcoming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nansi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairndow Oyster Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Cairndow Oyster Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing