We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Carradale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carradale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Carradale B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening meal. Our room was very clean and had everything we required . Breakfast had lots of choice, the staff were very helpful and friendly . Would stay again - such a nice area to visit

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    25
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
19
45
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

i went to the carradale hotel for lunch last week while on holiday in campbletown area in scotland, the greeting by staff was excellent. we had 2 dogs with us which were welcomed by the staff you can eat in the conservatory with the dogs sat next to you for which bowls of water to were brought for the dogs, the food was reasonbly priced and very good quality it did,nt take long to arrive , but the puddings are the best such a good choice and very good portion size, it is somewhere i will definatly visit again if im in the area and would recommend anyone thats there to give it a go you won,t be dissappointed

Room Tip: i did,nt stay in the hotel just used the resturant that is open to non residents
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We did not stay here but ate here. Typical of Scotland the hotel is the pub. We to looked for the entrance but were directed by who turned out to be the waiter. Very welcoming, we were a group of 4 unbooked but they found space for us. Menu was good and varied. Special was a steak which was expensive, but the whole meal was very very good. Having eaten the steak was it expensive no I would say not probably the best steak I have had in a long time so worth every penny.
The conservatory was a nice place to eat
The hotel does look a little tired but would I go back yes even just for the steak.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithsboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Despite our late arrival for dinner at 2045 (time and tide and all that) we enjoyed fine food, fine wine, fine hospitality, and the promise of a shower in the morning. Now that's what I call a good run ashore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenbee952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Upon our arrival at The Carradale "Hotel" we were slightly baffled by how to get in... The 'entrance' turned out to be through the restaurant at the back disturbing diners as they ate. Once in, we eventually found a member of staff who took us to our room but provided us with no information whatsoever. The door to our room could only be shut by a loud slam as all expense had been spared on the finish - evidenced throughout the hotel. The room was spacious and airy but, as we later discovered, directly above the pub so extremely noisy. When we mentioned this to the proprietor, he gleefully explained to us that his pub was making a fortune due to a wedding nearby (at the expense of his overnight guests above....)

Breakfast on the first day was a comedy of errors. No cutlery. No bread for the toaster. No butter. Every time I asked for one of which I was treated to the proprietor, who was serving, screaming across the breakfast room to apparently his only member of staff as he was seemingly unable / unwilling to complete the simplest of tasks himself.

We left the hotel around 1pm for the aforementioned wedding and were surprised and disappointed to return to an uncleaned room, with no towels, tea or coffee, and an unmade bed.

Day two breakfast arrived a soggy mess... The poached egg drowning in fishy water (must've been pinched from somebody's smoked haddock..) The potato scone, mushrooms, bacon and sausage soaking wet. I used four napkins to soak up the water from my plate.

Upon leaving the hotel we quietly mentioned the issues that we'd had to the proprietor. He responded by shouting at us in the hallway in front of everyone, asking us why we would expect our room to be cleaned if we left after 12. Perhaps someone could've explained this to us when we arrived. To, and I quote, 'get rid of us' he offered a £5 discount because, and I'm quoting again, 'that's what I would've paid my staff for the extra hour'... I was then informed by another staff member that he had stayed at 'big hotels in Glasgow and they don't clean the room after 12' !!!!! What a joke! We were eventually granted a 20% discount but not before being publicly bullied and humiliated.

Customer service is completely lacking in this place. The hotel seemed to be struggling to keep up with the amount of guests, expressing relief when we left that they could 'get back to normal'... Given that there are only nine rooms this seems a little odd. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sallysaysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carradaleh, Manager at Carradale Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
I would like to address the points you make in your review as I feel they are unjust and do not tell the whole story.

The hotel entrance is through a direct route in our large conservatory which is also used for dinning. This has been the entrance to the hotel for well over 100 years and has access to the main road, our large garden, deck and hotel car park at rear.

A full induction was in fact carried out by myself, not only including the ‘standards’ (eg fire procedures, meal times etc) but also where the wedding reception you were attending was located, how to get there and who else was staying with us over that weekend.

Due to new fire regulations we have recently had to change all room doors, some have had teething problems and these have now been addressed.

With regard to the comments about the noise from the pub, your room was not located above the pub but in fact above the lounge bar and conservatory. We did not, in any way, ‘gleefully’ explain that we were ‘making a fortune due to a wedding nearby’ but merely the fact the immediate wedding party (including the bride and other residents) of the wedding you were here to attend, stayed up later than usual. Both the conservatory and the lounge bar were closed down by 11.30pm.

You arrived late for breakfast on the Saturday, and subsequently we had started to strip the restaurant down, hence the lack of cutlery etc.

Our housekeeping staff spoke to ALL residents who were attending the wedding, including your husband in the corridor, who informed her that not servicing the room ‘was fine’. A full service tray way left out on the lading, including tea, coffee, fresh towels and toiletries.

At all food service times we check back on all tables to ensure that everything is ok. Your table was checked on regularly; you had refills of tea and coffee, yet did not mention your dissatisfaction with your breakfasts.

Upon departure you were presented with your bill for your stay, including your food and bar bill. It was only after this that your mood changed and you became aggressive towards me and my father, demanding a 20% discount, with a threat of a bad review online, with your only reasoning being that the room was not serviced (even though your husband had been consulted and extra provisions provided).

You were in no way ‘publically bullied and humiliated’ and I find this to be scurrilous and insulting. 6 months have now passed since your stay with us and it is only now that we are hearing about your other grievances.

I would also like to point to the review made on the 27th of August from a fellow wedding guest who stayed with us, which is at complete odds with your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were not staying at the hotel but popped in for an early evening meal. Staff were friendly. However the food was poor. Batter on the haddock was soft and greasy. The chicken curry was fair but the naan bread was stale. Not good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oldgreyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We (a hiking group of 5 male around 30 years) stayed in this hotel for one night. The rooms of the others were good but unlucky me I got a room directly above the pub (noisy). I guess because of this the room is usually not used.

Why I guess so? Spiders were in my bed, plaster was laying everywhere and consequently the cleanliness was not the best.

Maybe next time I have more luck.

By the way: Breakfast was good and sufficient.

Room Tip: Do not take room no. 5 as it is above the pub (noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carradale
0.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbank Hotel
Ashbank Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carradale
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunvalanree
Dunvalanree
#1 of 6 in Carradale
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carradale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carradale Hotel

Property: Carradale Hotel
Address: The Carradale Hotel | Carradale East, Carradale PA28 6RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carradale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carradale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated inn surrounded by beautiful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Carradale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carradale Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing