We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Dunvalanree”
Review of Dunvalanree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunvalanree
Ranked #2 of 5 Carradale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Just returned from a delightful experience staying at the Dunvalanree Hotel in Carradale the hosts Alyson and Alan run an excellent establishment and the food was to die for also the location is wonderful hope to return in the future.... Sam/Anne Nicolson

Stayed: August 2008
Thank sam_nicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2008

My husband and I booked for 2 nights but stayed for 3, from the minute you walk through the door you are made to feel so welcome. Alan is a very friendy host with loads of area knowledge, we stayed in room 6 which is bright and comfortable with a lovely view over the bay.
The food is simply amazing we were blown away with it, the menu choice is really good, everything about the food was excellent, the taste, the presentation,the attention to detail....
The staff were great too very attentive.
This is definately a great wee find if you want a quiet break,with fantastic food then it's all here at Dunvalanree.
We hope to return next year.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Marydun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My father and I spent a wonderful evening here last week and I can't wait to go back. In a way, it was a shame it only was for one night because the surrounding scenery is spectacular and the food is excellently prepared and amazingly delicious!

The rooms were well maintained although being a city boy, the lack of a television was a bit of a letdown (but I also realize that I wasn't there to watch the telly so in a way, that's a good thing).

I would highly recommend it to folks wanting to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamboAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

What a fantastic place to stay! My wife and i have just returned after spending a night at Dunvalanree. It is a superb place to stay if you are looking for a wonderful location by the beach, exceptionally friendly and welcoming hosts,and a place where you can truly unwind. However,the main reason for me would have to be for the food.It is quite simply outstanding. The hotel is run by a husband and wife, who clearly work very hard at running their hotel and indeed seem eager to look for any ways they can improve even more. But getting back to the food...we can honestly say it was one of the finest meals we have ever had.They source all the finest of ingredients locally and they are prepared beautifully by Alison. As for the hotel itself,it is exceptionally clean, full of character and the service by all members of staff is very friendly. I would strongly recommend you get there as soon as you can!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

I booked a dog friendly single room for 5 days at the Dunvalanree because it accepted small dogs. My wife and daughter were having a week's holiday in Boston so I looked for a quiet golf/wildlife/walking/dog friendly base. On arrival, I was offered the attached cottage as another couple would have liked the dog friendly room. The cottage was absolutely excellent - open fire, comfortable bed, kitchenette, lounge area - perfect for the dog. If I stay again, I'll definitely book the cottage - it was perfect for my needs. Located at the back of the Hotel - a simple 30 second stroll to the Hotel.
The breakfasts were excellent. The dinners even better. Drinks in the lounge were very reasonable and staff service levels were very good. The owners are not gushy and not over the top but are friendly. Orders at 7.15pm resulted in dinner at 8.00pm. The two Dunvalanree dogs could have been more welcoming - they tended to give you the once over each time you came back! However they are basically friendly.
The golf course is 350 M away, can be seen from the dining room and is fantastic - operates an honesty box system.
The walk to Carradale beach is wonderful. Wild goats are in the nature reserve. Seals on the beach. The whole area is wonderful. The Hotel food is freshly cooked and is extremely good - it needs to be in the Good Food Guide.
A Highly Recommended spot! Many repeat residents in evidence - a sure sign of a good Hotel. For a man and his dog this is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank forresjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

A fantasic hotel which has maintained very high standards over the years. Food, rooms and service just outstanding. This is a very special place with a fantastic welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tearlaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Food was lovely, views stunning. We liked the fact we could dump the car and get out and enjoy the walks.

Carradale is gorgeous and I can't imagine a more beautiful place to stay. The accommodation was grand - we stayed in room 7 which over looks a small beach & the golf course. The room & bathroom were luxurious.

It's a very sociable hotel - guests are invited to gather in the lounge for drinks before dining, and there is an extensive wine list and a la carte menu which changes daily, and the food is simply delicious.

We lodged on a D,B&B basis which I think is the only basis on offer, but the food and service were excellent so we got value for money.

We would go back. Don't bother going to Campbeltown, just head for Carradale. The main town is so disappointing it's such a relief when you reach Carradale.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chip_SSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carradale hotels
0.4 mi away
Carradale Hotel
Carradale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carradale
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lochpark House B&B
Lochpark House B&B
#1 of 5 in Carradale
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashbank Hotel
Ashbank Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carradale
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvalanree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvalanree

Address: Port Righ, Carradale PA28 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carradale
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunvalanree 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunvalanree Hotel and Restaurant offers excellent value, high quality accommodation in a tranquil and beautiful setting, with private garden overlooking the bay where Robert the Bruce landed in 1306. Carradale golf course is on the other side of the bay. The mile long beach at Carradale Bay is behind the hotel. Chef-Proprietor Alyson Milstead's menus feature local seafood and farm produce. Dunvalanree is licensed and is the only places in Kintyre listed in the Good Hotel Guide and the Good Food Guide. Dunvalanree is a superb location to explore Kintyre, the birthplace of the Scottish nation. Visit Springbank distillery, visit the sea-bird observatory, explore parts of the Kintyre Way or just walk, barefoot along the sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunvalanree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunvalanree Carradale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing