We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wondeful Food, Service and Location”
Review of Dunvalanree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunvalanree
Ranked #1 of 6 Carradale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wondeful Food, Service and Location”
Reviewed 3 June 2009

My Wife and I stayed at Dunvalanree for a week at the end of May. A superb location at the small secluded Port Righ bay on the East of Kintyre, made this hotel a perfect vacation venue. The Hotel is part of the Scottish Seafood trail and is rightly in receipt of many awards. The food was magnificent. Everything cooked to order, a good choice and delicious. Alan, the proprietor, was most attentive and the perfect host at all times.
The hotel is a good centre for touring Kintyre, being quite central. However, the road north is somewhat degraded compared to the west coast route.
There is plenty of walking available and for Bird Watchers a trip to the Machrihanish Seabird Observatory is a must. Don't expect a luxury Hide - but Eddie Maguire is a mine of information and could keep you fascinated all day. The bay near the hide is also superb for just watching wild life pass by - and then there is the golf course too!
The south of the peninsula is well worth a visit and tended to be more sunny than the north during our visit. We even got to see a Golden Eagle adn Dolphins plus many other firsts for our list.
We had room 6 at Dunvalanree which had a Bay view. It was perhaps a little cramped for a week, but facilities were good, including a miniature whiskey on the tea tray.
From a personal point of view Breakfast at 8:30 was late for early risers such as ourselves. However, the pre-breakfast time was spent in walking the nearby golf course or down to Carradale harbour.
The evenings were entirely taken up with Dinner - an event - from ordering about 7 p.m. with pre-dinner drinks to relaxing with coffee in the lounge took about 3 hours.
This could be a problem if you wanted to use the light nights of Summer to venture out.
There was a tendency for the lounge to be cold after Dinner as the evening unfolded, which to some may be a problem. No doubt Summer temperatures will improve matters.
Overall a wondeful week away highlighted by Alyson's Cordon Bleu Cooking.
Don't miss out - Go There!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lecturemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
73
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2009

High standards wonderful food, Allyson is a genius in the kitchen, Alan hosts as though you were visiting friends . comfortable beds relaxing atmosphere, lovely views over the bay to Arran cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I have just returned from a weeks holiday in Carradale which was superb and enhanced by having dinner at the Dunvalanree, the host Alan looks after you while his wife Allyson is in the kitchen conjuring up gastrinomical delights.
We visited other establishments which were mentioned in the reviews and i can only think that some people don't get out much.
If we had discovered the Dunvalanree at the beginning its safe to say we would heve been there every night.
Four satisfied customers from Edinburgh

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Just returned from a delightful experience staying at the Dunvalanree Hotel in Carradale the hosts Alyson and Alan run an excellent establishment and the food was to die for also the location is wonderful hope to return in the future.... Sam/Anne Nicolson

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank sam_nicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2008

My husband and I booked for 2 nights but stayed for 3, from the minute you walk through the door you are made to feel so welcome. Alan is a very friendy host with loads of area knowledge, we stayed in room 6 which is bright and comfortable with a lovely view over the bay.
The food is simply amazing we were blown away with it, the menu choice is really good, everything about the food was excellent, the taste, the presentation,the attention to detail....
The staff were great too very attentive.
This is definately a great wee find if you want a quiet break,with fantastic food then it's all here at Dunvalanree.
We hope to return next year.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Marydun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My father and I spent a wonderful evening here last week and I can't wait to go back. In a way, it was a shame it only was for one night because the surrounding scenery is spectacular and the food is excellently prepared and amazingly delicious!

The rooms were well maintained although being a city boy, the lack of a television was a bit of a letdown (but I also realize that I wasn't there to watch the telly so in a way, that's a good thing).

I would highly recommend it to folks wanting to get away from it all.

  • Liked — Food, food, food (and scenery)
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamboAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

What a fantastic place to stay! My wife and i have just returned after spending a night at Dunvalanree. It is a superb place to stay if you are looking for a wonderful location by the beach, exceptionally friendly and welcoming hosts,and a place where you can truly unwind. However,the main reason for me would have to be for the food.It is quite simply outstanding. The hotel is run by a husband and wife, who clearly work very hard at running their hotel and indeed seem eager to look for any ways they can improve even more. But getting back to the food...we can honestly say it was one of the finest meals we have ever had.They source all the finest of ingredients locally and they are prepared beautifully by Alison. As for the hotel itself,it is exceptionally clean, full of character and the service by all members of staff is very friendly. I would strongly recommend you get there as soon as you can!

  • Liked — the food!!
  • Disliked — it is a little remote, but if you are looking for peace, wonderful views and a relaxing time perfect
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carradale
13.7 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
11.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashbank Hotel
Ashbank Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carradale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carradale Hotel
Carradale Hotel
#4 of 6 in Carradale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lochpark House B&B
Lochpark House B&B
#2 of 6 in Carradale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvalanree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvalanree

Property: Dunvalanree
Address: Port Righ, Carradale PA28 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carradale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunvalanree 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunvalanree Hotel and Restaurant offers excellent value, high quality accommodation in a tranquil and beautiful setting, with private garden overlooking the bay where Robert the Bruce landed in 1306. Carradale golf course is on the other side of the bay. The mile long beach at Carradale Bay is behind the hotel. Chef-Proprietor Alyson Milstead's menus feature local seafood and farm produce. Dunvalanree is licensed and is the only places in Kintyre listed in the Good Hotel Guide and the Good Food Guide. Dunvalanree is a superb location to explore Kintyre, the birthplace of the Scottish nation. Visit Springbank distillery, visit the sea-bird observatory, explore parts of the Kintyre Way or just walk, barefoot along the sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunvalanree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunvalanree Carradale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing