We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay - highly recommended”
Review of Dunvalanree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunvalanree
Ranked #1 of 6 Carradale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed for one night at the end of June and had a wonderful time. The location of the hotel is marvellous - truly a beautiful spot. The room was clean, tidy and spacious enough.

The evening meal was splendid. Good quality food, presented beautifully. You are made to feel incredibly welcome, it was a pleasure to stay. Certainly somewhere we will return to!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stirlingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Dunvalanree
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2009

We arrived early June to spend five nights and four full days at Dunvalanree. As we drove down the "B Ways," we kept repeating to one another, "This place had better be good!" It is a superb house-lovely people there (Milstead family and staff), one of Nature's finest sites (tiny bay, great geology and easy to hike about) and a kitchen to match and more. We've traveled and lived in various places all over Scotland for brief periods over the past 32 years and regard Dunvalanree as a place where one, deservedly or not!, lives among the annointed. Alyson Milstead works magic in her kitchen-we enjoyed food to die for every day-fresh working material, perfect combinations and very smart presentations. To top it all off grand people gathering for drinks before dinner. Alan Milstead enters the lounge, distributes the evening's menue, receives orders for before dinner libations, announces that preparation of the various selections for our meals will take 30-35 minutes or so, leaving guests plenty of time to become acquainted. Curious but true...for us the mix of guests and the conviviality they create was always a marvelous prelude to what turned out to be five nights running of what must be some of Scotlands finest kitchen artistry. Great setting for a Christie plot...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senuccii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Congratulations to Alan and Alyson on running such a superb hotel and restaurant. We were made most welcome and treated to some marvellous home made cooking.Absolutely first class.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

My Wife and I stayed at Dunvalanree for a week at the end of May. A superb location at the small secluded Port Righ bay on the East of Kintyre, made this hotel a perfect vacation venue. The Hotel is part of the Scottish Seafood trail and is rightly in receipt of many awards. The food was magnificent. Everything cooked to order, a good choice and delicious. Alan, the proprietor, was most attentive and the perfect host at all times.
The hotel is a good centre for touring Kintyre, being quite central. However, the road north is somewhat degraded compared to the west coast route.
There is plenty of walking available and for Bird Watchers a trip to the Machrihanish Seabird Observatory is a must. Don't expect a luxury Hide - but Eddie Maguire is a mine of information and could keep you fascinated all day. The bay near the hide is also superb for just watching wild life pass by - and then there is the golf course too!
The south of the peninsula is well worth a visit and tended to be more sunny than the north during our visit. We even got to see a Golden Eagle adn Dolphins plus many other firsts for our list.
We had room 6 at Dunvalanree which had a Bay view. It was perhaps a little cramped for a week, but facilities were good, including a miniature whiskey on the tea tray.
From a personal point of view Breakfast at 8:30 was late for early risers such as ourselves. However, the pre-breakfast time was spent in walking the nearby golf course or down to Carradale harbour.
The evenings were entirely taken up with Dinner - an event - from ordering about 7 p.m. with pre-dinner drinks to relaxing with coffee in the lounge took about 3 hours.
This could be a problem if you wanted to use the light nights of Summer to venture out.
There was a tendency for the lounge to be cold after Dinner as the evening unfolded, which to some may be a problem. No doubt Summer temperatures will improve matters.
Overall a wondeful week away highlighted by Alyson's Cordon Bleu Cooking.
Don't miss out - Go There!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lecturemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

High standards wonderful food, Allyson is a genius in the kitchen, Alan hosts as though you were visiting friends . comfortable beds relaxing atmosphere, lovely views over the bay to Arran cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I have just returned from a weeks holiday in Carradale which was superb and enhanced by having dinner at the Dunvalanree, the host Alan looks after you while his wife Allyson is in the kitchen conjuring up gastrinomical delights.
We visited other establishments which were mentioned in the reviews and i can only think that some people don't get out much.
If we had discovered the Dunvalanree at the beginning its safe to say we would heve been there every night.
Four satisfied customers from Edinburgh

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
Thank EdinburghRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Just returned from a delightful experience staying at the Dunvalanree Hotel in Carradale the hosts Alyson and Alan run an excellent establishment and the food was to die for also the location is wonderful hope to return in the future.... Sam/Anne Nicolson

Stayed: August 2008
Thank sam_nicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carradale
19.3 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
450 reviews
11.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,194 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carradale Hotel
Carradale Hotel
#4 of 6 in Carradale
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashbank Hotel
Ashbank Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carradale
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvalanree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvalanree

Address: Port Righ, Carradale PA28 6SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carradale
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunvalanree 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunvalanree Hotel and Restaurant offers excellent value, high quality accommodation in a tranquil and beautiful setting, with private garden overlooking the bay where Robert the Bruce landed in 1306. Carradale golf course is on the other side of the bay. The mile long beach at Carradale Bay is behind the hotel. Chef-Proprietor Alyson Milstead's menus feature local seafood and farm produce. Dunvalanree is licensed and is the only places in Kintyre listed in the Good Hotel Guide and the Good Food Guide. Dunvalanree is a superb location to explore Kintyre, the birthplace of the Scottish nation. Visit Springbank distillery, visit the sea-bird observatory, explore parts of the Kintyre Way or just walk, barefoot along the sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunvalanree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunvalanree Carradale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing