We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stop over on the Kintyre Way”
Review of Ashbank Hotel

Ashbank Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashbank Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Carradale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good stop over on the Kintyre Way”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Room was on the small side and had a put up bed to make it up to a twin (we were made aware of this in advance when booking). We had a glimpse of another twin room which was OK but was already booked out. So our experience wasn't totally typical I suspect. Wouldn't stop me recommending this as a good stop over if walking the Kintyre Way.
Service very attentive.
Lovely location in a beautiful and unspoilt part of Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfoxtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    17
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
36
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I only stayed here one night and wish I'd had longer to enjoy the great hospitality and relaxing location. Ashbank is a very cute place to stay, set in a great location, minutes from the sea and a small 9 hole golf course on the back door. You would describe the rooms as basic but more than adequate and very good value for money.

The owners were more than accommodating and very friendly. Great breakfast too! I would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben7079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I recently travelled to Carradale for a golf and an easy break, booked into the "Ashbank Hotel" as was recommended by a friend and can honestly say this hotel was worth it. The views from the hotel are stunning and there are plenty of local walks (not too hilly) if you want to venture outside and take in the fresh air. The golf course (9hole) has some of the most fantastic views you could imagine and is challenging at same time. There is a beautiful beach within a 5 min walk and seems to go on for miles, clean and safe and again has views to die for. The hotelier sisters Tracy & Fiona were great fun and so very helpful (thanks ladies), cooking was superb and rooms were spotless in every way. I could not pick a fault about this hotel, the staff or area with the exception that it had to end.
I will certainly be visiting again and will be certainly recommending to friends and family alike.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_k69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverary
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2009

This is a great little hotel overlooking a golf course and with sea views. The food was excellent! The staff was wonderful, couldn't do enough for you. Easy access to Isle of Arran which is also an great place to visit. Nice little courtyard to sit out and have a glass of wine in the evening. Most enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InveraryKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed here recently with my lady friend and could not have had a better time.
The bedroom was spotless and the standard of the cleaning was outstanding.
Food was cooked very well and being homely made all the difference.
Only gripe was the weather but that is not something that Ashbank could have helped with, but I am sure that if they could they would have!
Location is one of the most beautiful locations in Scotland and watching the seals down at the beach was a highlight!

thanks again for a wonderful stay!

Will recommend to all my friends wanting a quiet holiday in a beautiful place!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onMull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We visited the Ashbank 17th Feb for lunch and liked it so much we booked the next day for our evening meal. The service from Tracey was excellent - she could not do enough to make our visit enjoyable. The food was excellent too, I had the lamb for evening meal and the Lemon Meringue dream was delicious. My sister in law and her husband both thoroughly enjoyed the visit too and the cosy, friendly atmosphere was very welcoming. Make sure you look at the spirit shelves in the bar area - they defy gravity.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2008

As planned I returned to the Ashbank with a friend and her two daughters. Staying for 5 days we explored the surrounding areas and marvelled at the sights and scenery. The staff at Ashbank recommended particular areas to visit and gave sound directions also! We were delighted by its history and the girls enjoyed the wildlife (seals, birds of prey). We crammed visits to the beach 5mins away (bikini weather in Scotland exists!) a day at the Owl Centre in Campbeltown (you can get pretty close to the birds during any displays), had jewellery designed at the local jewellers, horse trekked in beautiful woodlands, saw seals at the harbour (5mins away), checked out Saddell Abbey and Castle, walked Deer Hill, went eagle spotting (wow!) and finally put our brakes on with a wonderful massage as suggested by the Ashbank staff (albeit the cows refusing to allow our car access to the therapist's cottage!)
Looked after by the attentive staff, and opting to eat every evening on the delicious home made dishes, all of us thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. It was great to dine alongside the local villagers in the Ashbank's restaurant (in my book local popularity always is a good indicaton). On one occasion with impromptu scottish songs were sung and guitars strummed, great night!
For holidays I never return to the same area but this little gem of a hotel is a splendidly friendly base to venture out to its counterparts! Glad I stumbled across it!!

Helpful?
Thank judes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carradale
12.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,158 reviews
19.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
444 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carradale Hotel
Carradale Hotel
#4 of 6 in Carradale
96 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
135 reviews
16.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbank Hotel

Property: Ashbank Hotel
Address: Airds, Carradale PA28 6RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Carradale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carradale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashbank is a small family owned and run hotel in the picturesque fishing village of Carradale on the east coast of the quiet and unique Kintyre Peninsula, with views across Kilbrannan Sound to Arran and Ailsa Craig. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbank Hotel Carradale, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing