We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
75
18
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
18
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel twin room cooked breakfast first class dinner breakfast clean rooms one night great base from which to explore fab breakfast places to visit great local knowledge hot water home cooked fabulous beach lovely couple fantastic stay place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Recently spent a night at this quaint little village hotel. Wished we had more time to spend here, but what little time we were here, we thoroughly enjoyed it. Although the room was small by Canadian standards, it is acceptable. What makes this place stand out were the hosts, Sharon and John. Friendly and helpful, they run their business like a fine tuned watch. After extensive travelling for two weeks throughout Scotland, and eating at all levels of restaurants, we can honestly say the meals that we had at this little hotel were by far, the best meals we had, both breakfast, and dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anthonywA5413CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Ashbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for such kind words! It was a treat to meet you and spend a bit of time hearing about your adventures! We hope that, if you come back to Scotland in the future, you’ll be able to make a return visit to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

John and Sharon were very welcoming and friendly. They went out ot their way to make sure our stay was a pleasure and we had a wonderful time. You are made to feel almost part of the family and we are already planning a return visit in two years time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crmf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Ashbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi there! Thank you so your lovely feedback! We truly enjoyed welcoming you and look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Our family ate here one night, when we where on vacation. The service was good the staff very attentive and knowledgeable about the area. We were disappointed with the food the board outside said home cooked meals. The menu was nice ( something for everyone) but did not look like or taste like home cooked meals. The bread that was brought out was excellent. The breaded mushrooms and scampi starters were frozen without a doubt. Kind of disappointing as the location is part of the Sea food trail. The atmosphere was nice, the food was pricey for the quality.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Ashbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi Emma. Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that you weren’t happy with your meal and that you didn’t mention this at the time so that we could discuss our menu and the progeny of the foods we use. However, for clarification, all of our dishes are home cooked. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My husband, son and I stayed at the Ashbank earlier in August. The owners, Sharon and John, are very welcoming and you couldn't meet a nicer couple! The rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean, as is the whole hotel, and have ample storage, TV with DVD player and coffee/tea making facilities.

Breakfasts are delicious - our son especially enjoyed the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup - and include local products such as the Wee Isle Dairy milk (from Gigha) and locally made jam. Dinners are equally tasty with a great choice for a small hotel, and include a children's menu. We also enjoyed sampling the various whiskies on offer and the local Kintyre gin - highly recommended!

Carradale itself is one of the bigger villages on Kintyre and a great base from which to explore. Sharon and John gave us some great recommendations for places to visit and eat in the area.

All in all, a lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, due to location. Rooms 1,5 and 6 overlook the golf course.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Da G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Ashbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi there! Thank you for your generous review! We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and the super tastes that Kintyre offers! Hope you can make a return visit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

This small hotel is run by a lovely couple. Although small, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast and evening meals delicious. The owners have an evening off on Sunday but there are several nearby places that serve dinner so that it is not a problem. There is plenty for walkers and cyclists and the owners have great local knowledge so can advise on interesting activities for the day.
We drove there but if I managed to get fitter, would be tempted to make a return visit via bike and ferries.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 304susiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, Owner at Ashbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful area. Looking forward to welcoming you when you arrive on your bike in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews