We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashbank Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saddell House(Saddell)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Argyll Arms Hotel(Campbeltown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Argyll Arms(Campbeltown)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
64
17
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
17
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hoteltwin roomlovely coupleone nightgreat base from which to explorefeel right at homegreat local knowledgefabulous beacha lovely stayb bfantastic hostshome cookedfollowing morningcooked breakfastplace to staywarm welcomeon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We don't understand the good reviews for this hotel. Be aware that this is really a B&B, an average one, charging hotel prices while missing basic hotel comforts as follows: grey seen-better-days towels, no toiletries apart from a tube of handwash, no biscuits with the tea/coffee, television with indoor aerial showing 3 fuzzy channels, no wifi, no guest lounge to escape from the bedrooms. Our bedrooms had cruddy heaters and carpets and a lingering damp smell. We can't commemt on the food as we didn't eat there apart from breakfast, which was a good one. If they made these changes and opened up a classy lounge, this could be a a lot better. Not recommended for more than one night,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Starbuck_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stayed here with our miniature schnauzer for two enjoyable evenings as part of a tour of the West Coast of Scotland. Made to feel very welcome although the bedroom was a little on the small side but offset by the excellent evening meal and hearty breakfast.
A good place to stay for touring Kintyre and would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiganMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Friendly, welcoming, clean and tidy. Good food at reasonable prices. The hotel is much like the village it is in where total strangers say hello and pass the time of day with you. Very pleasing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjimcanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

What a really lovely little hotel this is. We arrived totally on spec, on a Saturday afternoon, with not alot of options in the area for accomodation, and the owner could not have been more helpful. She re-arranged beds and rooms and while we were having our evening meal ( even a half an hour after the kitchen had closed and food had finished ) our rooms were prepared. The kids loved it, especially the resident cat, we all slept sound, and had a great hearty breakfast the next morning, before we traveled onwards.
A couple of guests provided the Sat night entertainment, and we all had a sing song.
A short walk to Carradale beach , to walk off the breakfast, and therev is also the golf course 200 yards away.

A truly delightful little hotel in a beautiful wee part of kintyre... A must see !!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Have never been to this part of Scotland before and when we arrived we weren't too sure what to expect!
Fiona and Tracy are the best hosts you could ever wish for...they are pleasant well mannered and Fiona is every mans dream wife...(A whizz in the kitchen)
Nothing is too much bother for them...
Please don't hesitate to book if you are like us...Hard workers that wanted to switch off and be spoiled!!!
Go to the Ashbank!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim-mckinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews