We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous destination for a large family gathering”
other traveller has booked this property
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days! Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days!
Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Victorian dining room with open fire
Upstairs drawing room with open fire
Cosy gunroom bar with wood burning stove
Four poster bedroom
1st floor bedroom
!st floor at the front
spring!
children's room
1st floor bedroom
fountain
oak room fireplace
Walled garden
View from upstairs lounge room
1st floor bathroom
Winter view
View from the hill behind Balinakill
View from Dunskeig Iron Age Fort, Clachan (1/2 hour walk from Balinakill)
Tarbert
Conservatory
Garden view
Oak panelled drawing room with open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Clachan, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
magsedinb...
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous destination for a large family gathering”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

16 of my extended family visited Balinakill Country House for a relaxing long weekend. It was a real privilege to be able to stay in such a grand house with a fascinating history while still able to feel at home, comfortable and cosy.
We had wee ones (5 and 6), medium sized ones (12 and 16), mums and dads and a sprinkling of grandparents. The whole family loved it, from cricket on the lawn, sitting round the vast dinner table enjoying family meals, relaxing in the oak room with a few drammies to snuggling into the snug bar late in the evening enjoying the crack.
We had some wonderful walks with the two family dogs, the beach was fab and we also visited the remains of an Iron Age fort. While we were there, there was an art fair in the local village (Clachan) and a festival in Tarbert, 10 miles away. There's a good range of other activities we spotted but didn't indulge in - we fancied sea kayaking and canoeing.
We all wished we'd been able to stay longer, unfortunately school holidays wouldn't allow it. Will just need to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grandeur and history of the house
Liked least: Nothing that we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms
Liked least: lack of sign at gateway
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snug bar
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donna E
Balloch, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect mix of luxury and home comforts in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I recently got married at Balinakill, and I can not recommend it enough. It has everything you need for a family get away with the added bonus of a functioning bar and separate loos for additional guests. If looking to rent Balinakill for a wedding there is also a professional catering kitchen. All the rooms are beautifully furnished, beds are super comfy and with the remote location a good night sleep is a sure thing. Amongst all this Balinakill still feels like a warm welcoming home not a stuffy wedding venue. The owner is very accommodating and truly make you and all your guest truly welcome. As a wedding venue it is also ver reasonably priced. I had a wonderful wedding weekend and cannot
Imagine getting married anywhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balclutha...
Balloch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible venue for a Wedding”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have just arrived home from our son's wedding. Balinakill House is stunning and classy, but not only that ,it has the most wonderful relaxed lovely warmth to it which you do not get in all large residences. The owners could not have done enough for us . Nothing was a problem and everything was dealt with in a highly professional manner. We loved every moment of our weekend visit for the Wedding as did all the guests. We would love to return one day for a family get together.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautifully furnished public rooms, e.g. The White Room on the first floor.
Liked least: No lift to second floor bedrooms.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
speckyBal...
balloch
2 reviews
“Well worh a visit”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My daughter got married at Balnakil country house, we had the most wonderful time, the house and owners make you feel most welcome. The bedrooms are lovely and beds very comfortable. My daughter and her new husband wanted a relaxed family holiday weekend tying in with the marriage, and that is exactly what they got. She felt as soon as she communicated with Ann (the owner), she new that is where she wanted to get married. She was so helpfull and went out of her way to make sure everything went well. A BIG THANK YOU to Ann.
My family liked it so much they would like to organise another family weekend. I would highly recommend the house to any one planning a wedding or family break in glorious location.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,594
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing