We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“OUT OF THIS WORLD”
other travellers have booked this property
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days! Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days!
Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Victorian dining room with open fire
Upstairs drawing room with open fire
Cosy gunroom bar with wood burning stove
Four poster bedroom
1st floor bedroom
!st floor at the front
spring!
children's room
1st floor bedroom
fountain
oak room fireplace
Walled garden
View from upstairs lounge room
1st floor bathroom
Winter view
View from the hill behind Balinakill
View from Dunskeig Iron Age Fort, Clachan (1/2 hour walk from Balinakill)
Tarbert
Conservatory
Garden view
Oak panelled drawing room with open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Clachan, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jollierod...
Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OUT OF THIS WORLD”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just back from a week of wedding celebrations in Balinakill. There were 25 of us and everyone had a fantastic time. Before booking we viewed a number of different venues and Balinakill stood out from the rest then but after our week there I cant speak highly enough about the place. The house is tastefully decorated and in good condition, there is a great ambience about the place, it really does have a heart.
But what really set the place appart were the Anne and her colleagues. Right from the start we didnt feel like it was a commercial transaction, it was like we were arranging a wedding with an old friend. Uta the housekeeper was invaluable, she recommended locals to come and help us, people we would never have found but they all came and were immedietely our friends, John the piper, Alex & David the Band, Lori and Arthur the dancers, Paraig the storeyteller and Val the caterer all wonderful people. Even the housekeeping staff we so very friendly one of the ladies brough some CD's with traditional Scandinavian music as she knew some of the party were from Finland. Oh and I cant fail to mention the handy man who was wonderfully ecentric but had a great knowledge of the house.
Beleive me if you are looking for a wedding venue or somewhere for a group to meet look no further Balinakill is the place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff and recommended suppliers
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bar!
Liked least: nothing to
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndyMacQ
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible house and stunning area!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We hired out Balinakill for a large group weekend and from start to finish the experience was absolutely amazing! The booking team were incredibly helpful and put us in touch with local caterers, drinks providers, transport options and the shooting club. I was the organiser for a group of 26 of us (and going somewhere I had never been to before) I honestly could not have done it without the help of the team at Balinakill! They went above and beyond - thank you! As for the house itself, it is absolutely incredible. It's not often that you see 26 adults all with their jaws wide open in wonder! And the bar in the house is just amazing. The smallest room in the house but once you get the fire on and a drink in hand you will find it incredibly hard to leave it! I cannot recommend the backroom staff or this house highly enough. I definitely hope to return in the not too distant future. 26 of us all left very very happy with our long weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible from start to finish. Absolutely lived up to the pictures and excellent value for money in my view.
Liked least: There was nothing that I would not rate highly about this house or the booking team.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel A
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolutely perfect week”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked for a full week for a wedding with extended family, children and dogs. The house was perfect, it contained everything you could ever need from children’s toys to all the little essentials you may have forgotten and plenty of space for a group of 20.

With amazing original features throughout the setting really did take you to another world. The gardens were a child’s paradise with room to let off steam. Even on the days it rained the house itself allowed for everyone to find the peace they needed. And don’t be put off by the remote location, the drive offers some of the best views I have ever seen and you will find that once you arrive you don’t want to leave the grounds!

We used one of the outside caterers recommended by Balinakill for the wedding day for both breakfast and dinner, the service and food was to an excellent standard.
I would highly recommend Balinakill to anyone, it is an absolutely stunning house, in a truly beautiful location, offering great value for money. Who knew you get all that without using your passport!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The photos of this house don't do it complete justice, it is just magical!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family getaway/Wedding”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Fantastic house with huge amounts of space in a rural and remote location but still easy to get to. We spent a fantastic week here with extended family, dogs, kids and teenagers. The housekeeper and handyman were helpful but ask the handyman not to keep walking in unannounced. Its inappropriate when there are children around but he was trying to be helpful. Some parts of the house are getting really tired but don't let this put you off . It adds to the character which is plentiful. It could do with being a bit cleaner in places but again this was soon put right. Great garden for kids to go exploring despite the rain. We had a wedding mid week which was catered locally to a really high standard so ask for a recommendation from the owners, its worth while.
The bar area made for some fun evenings and the house was especially appropriate for a fancy dress halloween party once it was dressed up a bit. If you want a large place for a lot of people at a good price you won't go far wrong here. The guest book seems to reflect the same views form others.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: space, character, and
Liked least: Handyman shouldn't just walk into the house unannounced.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing