We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome house , brilliant family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days! Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days!
Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Victorian dining room with open fire
Upstairs drawing room with open fire
Cosy gunroom bar with wood burning stove
Four poster bedroom
1st floor bedroom
!st floor at the front
spring!
children's room
1st floor bedroom
fountain
oak room fireplace
Walled garden
View from upstairs lounge room
1st floor bathroom
Winter view
View from the hill behind Balinakill
View from Dunskeig Iron Age Fort, Clachan (1/2 hour walk from Balinakill)
Tarbert
Conservatory
Garden view
Oak panelled drawing room with open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Clachan, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Awesome house , brilliant family holiday”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2016

Sorry took so long to review.
My family of 21 people ranging from 2 to 59 stayed here for 4 nights for our annual family gathering and had an amazing time . We have since stayed at much less impressive houses which prompted me to write this late review. Balinakill house is the stuff dreams are made of. The draw dropping view of the long hallway and magnificent staircase is breath taking. The sunroom is huge and became a great space for the kids to play, when they weren't playing football in the garden or hide and seek in the house. The cosy oak panelled rooom became the focal point for the 20 somethings while us oldies spent most nights in the bar, beer flowing, candles flickering and guitars strumming - perfect nights all round . Groups went to the distillery at Campbell's town, walking in the hills or on the beach or having spa treatments in the white lounge during the day. Evening meals spent round the huge table in the dining room which easily accommodated all our party . The scenery on route was incredible and our time at the house even more so . The house was warm , cosy and very child friendly and 21 of us would highly recommend it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fandabidozy”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic location if you have a large group to accomodate, Amazing facilities including two kitchens (one fully equipped professional kitchen) to on site bar (which you stock and serve yourself!) Bedrooms were varied in size and number and types of beds but each room was spacious and clean and views amazing! Grounds were immaculate and great for playing outdoor games and for dogs. Loads of space within the house and reception rooms, pool table and orangery with great dance floor! Would go back in a heart beat and cannot recommend highly enough.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G
1 review
“My 60th Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in May 2016

There were 26 adults in attendance with 3 children.
We simply had the best time from the moment we arrived on Friday afternoon until our reluctant departure on Tuesday morning. The bar was seldom empty. We had a formal black tie dinner in the dining room after a champagne reception in the white room - oh the views.........................
The house is stunning and everything you could possible need available.
We are talking about return and I hope we make it.

Don't forget to book a ceilidh and enjoy some dancing!!!

Thank you Ann We all loved you home!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Days to remember!”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in May 2016

I cannot recommend Balinakill House enough! Truly fantastic venue for a weekend to remember. History, luxury and hospitality in abundance, combined with locally sourced craft beer made for the perfect stag weekend for us. Whatever the occasion; family, business or fun with friends the house and the surrounding amenities will have you looking back fondly on good times.

Only positives from our stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP1201420...
Alexandria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golden wedding weekend”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

What a wonderful place. 35 people from 6 months to 84 years old got together for a family celebration. The came from Europe and USA, as well as the "locals". Everyone of us had the most fantastic weekend, which was made possible by this wonderful house. If you are looking for a big place to get together, this is it. It is full of character and tradition, with all the comforts of home built in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardab...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Fantastic Family Get Together”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in July 2016

I traveled with my Mum and daughter to attend a family get together at Balinakill, we stayed for a long weekend. The home and grounds were beautiful, the staff were timely, attentive, pleasant people. The home amenities exceeded my expectations - bedding was comfortable/clean, full bathrooms attached to each room was a GREAT thing (along with deep tub and showers). Really enjoyed walking the grounds, and across the road to the sea (although neighboring farmer was a bit grumpy when he found us walking across his land, be ware). I'd recommend Balinakill to friends/family. Thanks for a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances F
1 review
“Wedding”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016

My son and daughter in law chose this beautiful house for their wedding . The house offered a spacious gorgeous house . The ceremony was on the beautiful lawn area ,the dinner was in sun room which then became a dance floor . The staff was outstanding and meet our every need . The house is well suited and has private salons plus big gathering places . The men loved the separate bar area and wonen loved kitchen area with its fireplace . I had 7 grandchildren and they loved playing in huge lawn . The house is well situated close enough to some small villages which we loved going to .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing