We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location. Excellent Service”
Review of Jura Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Jura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jura Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location. Excellent Service”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Really enjoyed our stay in this lovely location ( a view to die for !). Good food and excellent service helped even if the weather was a bit indifferent (but that is Scotland).
Very homely atmosphere in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardna32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    94
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
160
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

It needs a good brighten up... but in some ways it is all part of its charm. You get the feeling this place has sheltered many a weary storm blown traveller.

The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and the food was excellent in quality and value.

It can't be easy to run a hotel this isolated and I reckon they're doing a great job of it.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWillEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed here on a walking trip and were very pleased by the efforts made by the young owners to make all guests as welcome as possible. Not all rooms were available due to the upgrading work but the one we were in had a glorious sea view. The workmen did not intrude on our enjoyment of the visit at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmsuliivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

i stayed here for two nights, the hotel is certainly a little tired and well in need of the refub that is currently (but unobtrusively) underway. It is a eautiful location, the food and service are excellent, the bar is good fun. Good, honest value for money, you shouldn't be disappointed unless your expectations are unrealisiic.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferryjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopbriggs, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly staff and management. Still being upgraded at the moment, but very comfortable. A little pricy perhaps for an out-of-season single room, but a quality place to stay nonetheless. The location is ideal for exploring Jura, as it is centrally located and set in the only village on the island. The bar is cozy, well stocked and friendly, which is just as well, as there is no other bar on the island! If you like "remote", then Jura is a truly magical place, and the Jura Hotel is an ideal base.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfaetrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The perfect place to get away from it all. Amazing food which is sourced locally where possible.

We were made to feel so welcome it was like being part of the family. Where else are you told to bring your slippers and make yourself at home? Dog friendly.

Owners will be refurbishing the hotel which is starting to look a little tired. Already vastly improved by the exterior coat of paint.

Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We spent New Year at the Jura Hotel and could not fault the warmth of the welcome or the efforts that were made to make us comfortable. The companionship of our fellow travellers and the interesting activities laid on by the hotel managers made this the best New Year ever. We cannot fault the efforts made by the staff. I have never enjoyed so much free malt! Jura is a very special place. 10/10. Recommended for all those of us who find New Year's Eve a depressing time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Jura
12.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
21.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
17.8 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
12.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jura Hotel

Property: Jura Hotel
Address: Craighouse, PA60 7XU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Jura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jura Hotel is the perfect spot from which to explore the magical island of Jura, in the Inner Hebrides off the west coast of Scotland. The hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There are two comfortable lounges for guests' use; free wifi for hotel residents; a restaurant & lounge bar serving great meals based on local produce and at reasonable prices; and a lively bar, which is the island's only pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jura Hotel Isle Of Jura, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing