We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food. Friendly staff. Great views ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jura Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Jura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jura Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Friendly staff. Great views ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Had a very comfortable 4 nights here. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food good and the staff helpful and friendly. Would def recommend.
It's a beautiful island and worth a visit. If you have the energy climb the Paps - it's hard work but you get a great view! So long as it's not cloudy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PocketReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    92
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
156
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Jura is indeed a very special place - as someone once described it, "you feel like a visitor in a wildlife location"....in our week long stay we saw deer, otters, porpoise, eagles, pheasants, grouse, a peacock, an albino rabbit, and a herd of wild goats...amazing. And right in the centre of all these wonderful experiences sits the Jura Hotel, directly across from the Jura Distillery. We did not stay there on this occasion but did have breakfasts, dinners and lunches there - all very good and excellent value - the only criticism we had was that the portion size was gargantuan - I suspect a relic of the past! The staff, mainly a young group, were all excellent ambassadors for the hotel - they were attentive, engaging and helpful to guests. The hotel has new owners and they were extremely welcoming and helpful to us in changing flights, booking early morning ferries and making WiFi available when we had to change travel plans. As we are planning to return to the island we will certainly include a stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here as a last minute booking. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room had a fabulous view over the bay. The hotel is being brought up to modern standards by the new owners in a very sympathetic way. Our room was large with a brand new bathroom with separate shower and huge bath. Perhaps addition of black-out blinds in the sea facing bedrooms would be a good idea. We awoke at 04:00 - but our reward was watching a magnificent sunRISE. Dinner was very good, with lots of fresh seafood and venison and a good ranging wine list with reasonable prices. We look forward to going back - and seeing what more improvements have been made.

Room Tip: Room 10 is one of the Superior doubles, has a sea view and fab bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 10 days cycling round Jura, Islay and Colonsay, staying at a different place every night. Our initial impression of the Jura Hotel was that this place was a bit scruffy. That is because we entered through the pub. In fact the hotel part is really nice. Our room was lovely and our shower was the best I've ever encountered, having TWO shower heads. We had a small problem with the room which was put right immediately and we were given free drinks as an apology. The staff were super attentive, friendly and helpful. They even found a lead to charge my Kindle. Food was good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kormachameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Only spent one night which was a shame as it has such a good atmosphere and that's because the locals are just great mixed with a very professionally run hotel. Not pretentious, comfortable, relaxed, helpful. Will always head back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Ducked in to get a fill after a Jura tour and the soup was great, very tasty and filling with a nice hot roll. Staff were very friendly and helpful as our Debit Card initially wasn't accepted for cash-out and we needed the cash to pay the ferry for our return trip to Islay!!! They sorted this out and we were both full of food and had cash. Thanks muchly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColinLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a lovely stay in the Jura Hotel towards the end of a week cycling on Arran, Islay and Jura. Our room was beautifully presented and ultra comfortable with lovely views over the sea and our bathroom was most luxurious. The atmosphere in the hotel is warm, friendly, welcoming whether you are a walker, a camper, a cyclist or a driver (or sailor) and the evening meal was well priced, fresh, tasty, most enjoyable. I am coeliac and the hotel had ordered in gluten free bread for my breakfast which was much appreciated.All the young staff were friendly and helpful. You won't go wrong staying here if you are on the island!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyEH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Jura
21.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
17.8 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
20.0 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
12.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
12.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jura Hotel

Property: Jura Hotel
Address: Craighouse, PA60 7XU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Jura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Jura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jura Hotel is the perfect spot from which to explore the magical island of Jura, in the Inner Hebrides off the west coast of Scotland. The hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There are two comfortable lounges for guests' use; free wifi for hotel residents; a restaurant & lounge bar serving great meals based on local produce and at reasonable prices; and a lively bar, which is the island's only pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jura Hotel Isle Of Jura, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing