We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time on Jura”

Jura Island Tours -Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“A wonderful time on Jura”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was very fortunate to have a two-hour tour of Jura with Alex Dunnachie at Jura Island Tours last week. Alex was pleasant, knowledgeable, and tailored the tour to my special interests. I loved the quaintness and beauty of the isalnd, the friendliness of its residents, and the detailed information and introductions Alex provided me. It was a special day and a great tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurabus, Owner at Jura Island Tours -Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Many thanks for your kind words, glad I helped to make your visit so special.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Absolute must do in this part of the world”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

It was not easy getting a bus load of people up to meet Alex off the 8.30 ferry from Islay. However the team were quickly quiet both with Alex's level of island knowledge and personal touch, the utter beauty of the island and if that did not do it, the trek to the source of Jura Whisky's water! We loved every minute and barely had enough time to see everything despite it being on one road. Alex even arranged Tea on the Beach for us despite it being their day off. Absolutely brilliant, many thanks from us all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurabus, Owner at Jura Island Tours -Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you so much for your recommendation, glad you all enjoyed the day and the fantastic weather made all the difference.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous guide to history and wilderness”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

On a walking holiday with Holiday Fellowship, we spent three days in Jura. Alex was our taxi driver. We also took a tour with him on our day off from walking. If you are interested in history, culture and the ever-changing nature of this island, take a trip with Alex. Forget the average tour guide. Alex is steeped in the history and changing culture of his island. Our stay on Jura was the richer for our acquaintance with him.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holidayfellowsh... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurabus, Owner at Jura Island Tours -Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 August 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed your trip to Jura.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight with a very enthusiastic guide”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Alex is a very pleasant and knowledgeable guide for a trip to see the wonderful Isle of Jura.

I have driven the Long Road up the island myself and it makes such a difference to have someone else take over. Although the A846 is an "A" classified road, it's really nothing more than a farm track in places, so putting the responsibility on a local driver is a very good choice.

Alex's enthusiasm comes over in every aspect of his tour, always have an extra item of background when asked a question.

You may not find an advertised tour. I saw a poster in the Jura distillery shop and gave Alex a call. He said he didn't have a plan for a tour this week but he would put up a notice in the hotel. Some more people also wanted a tour so he put one on. Typical Western Isles informality. I love it! So, if you want a tour, give Alex a call - details on his web site at jurabus.co.uk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSaintJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurabus, Owner at Jura Island Tours -Day Tours, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the tour,I'm glad you found it so interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Day!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My family and I had a short time on Jura and we wanted to accomplish a lot -- tour the island, get a feel for the people, and maybe even try a little fishing if we could work it in. How to accomplish all of this? Thankfully, we reached out to Alex at Jura Island Tours. He worked with us to design the perfect day. Alex picked us up at the Jura Hotel in his Mercedes passenger van, ordered picnic lunches from the restaurant, and gave us an "insider's perspective" on the magnificent and historic island of Jura. He came to Jura many decades ago and fell in love with the place and met his wife here, too. Alex's passion for the island is contagious and he made the day fun! We loved the sites -- the church, the burial ground, tea on the beach, the beautiful landscapes and the many deer. And we spent the afternoon learning how to fly fish and catching trout. Alex is an experienced angler, too. So if you want to really enjoy your visit to Jura, reach out to Jura Island Tours. You won't be disappointed! We have memories for a lifetime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurabus, Owner at Jura Island Tours -Day Tours, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks for a great review, I'm glad you all enjoyed the day so much and have great memories of your time on Jura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jura Island Tours -Day Tours also viewed

Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute
 
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Jura Island Tours -Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing