We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenery just too perfect to miss stopping here”

The Holly Tree Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Scenery just too perfect to miss stopping here”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The view here is the finest feature, but the food is a close second. Can highly recommend the oysters, scallops and mussels. All wonderfully fresh. No fuss food that celebrates the ingredients rather than the chef. To cap a lovely evening, the service from the waiting staff was consistently good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    107
    41
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“too much sauce”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

we had dressed and crab and salmon fishcake to start which was lovely, waitress was pleasent and served us promptly, i had scallops and partner had chicken with haggis, both dishes were lovely but far to much sauce!!! it ruined the taste, i normally ask for sauce on the side, but with scallops i thought chef just do small amount , on looking back reviews i have noted that this has happened before, NOTE to chef, easy peasy on the sauce!!! other wise views lovely, on a cold wet day, maybe slightly overpriced for lunch menu!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There seems to be no one running this place and perhaps that's why some of the waiting staff get away with being surly.”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I know the area very well and have stayed a couple of times and eaten on many occasion and I would say overall food was good, views lovely and rooms plesant enough though on the pricey side. However my main concern and a really pertinent question which I'd love an answer to is WHO ON EARTH IS RUNNING THIS PLACE? Throughout the last three years at least I have never yet seen a manager. A number of staff - mainly European have come and gone and each time I visit there are new faces. During this last visit there were a couple of plesant staff but others were indifferent and treated customers as an inconvenience. Upon ordering langoustines I asked the waitress if she could ask the chef to take the shells off with the reply being that she doubted the chef would. Sure enough she came back and said chef would not take said shells off! The food I did eventuallyhave was fine - no problems. Except that the waitress never smiled, wouldn't engage in conversation even when we had decided to adopt a 'go over the top pleasant' attitude just to see if there was a change. Sorry to say there wasn't!
Moving away from restaurant service, When we initially enquired about the room and asked if we could see it beforehand the receptionist told us this would not be possible because it was still being cleaned due to the fact that ther were only two cleaning staff and they were nearly full. The room wouldn't be ready until after 4p.m. And here is where I think there is a connection to my earlier question about who runs this place. It would seem (and I would appreciate a manager or owner responding to this review) that in the absence of key staff such as a manager, the small amount of staff there just muddle through the best they can, without being directed. Key customer service issues like friendliness and efficiency are wanting and it maybe that the staff are so demoralised that they just turn up to do the job and gert through another day. What a waste. I fear that this place relies on its key location overlooking the loch but it could be so much better. It's crying out for an identity and love. Maybe the company just operates it as a get rich quick business and couldn't care less about customer service. It seems that way to me anyway. What a shame. Ending on a positive note, the guy behind the bar was lovely - about the only one who could make a smile look genuine. He's wasted there and I wouldn't be surprised if he isn't snapped up by other hotels or indeed decides to go on his own accord!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsjbarningham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, food and wine”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We have visited the Holly Tree Restaurant three times in total now ..... and I'm sure it won't be our last.

The service, food and wine are excellent.

We've tried the duck, venison, fillet steak and seafood platter - all are mouthwatering.

Daylight permitting (the light goes much earlier in January) the views from the restaurant are stunning.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VerveCliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good quality generous portions”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Good quality food, generous portions, served hot, based in pleasant restaurant with great views

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Holly Tree Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Ballachulish, Glencoe
Ballachulish, Glencoe
 

Been to The Holly Tree Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing