We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, fabulous location, excellent food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, fabulous location, excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel in June. The location of the hotel is fabulous; beautiful views of Loch Linnhe and the mountains beyond, which change daily depending on the weather.

Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. All bedrooms overlook the loch and most have a balcony. Unfortunately our room didn't have a balcony but the large window still allowed us to enjoy the views. The room provided us with everything we needed: tea and coffee making facilities and good quality biscuits, ironing board, hairdrier etc. Lovely bathroom.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, especially the very fresh seafood and the chocolate brownie (the later ordered by my husband on both nights!!), Service is very good and although the restaurant is not cheap, portions are good and quality high.

We loved the old station building and the Rennie Mackintosh decor. Very tastefully restored and cared for. The lounge, "waiting room" , is lovely.

The pool area is small but nicely done and met our needs for swimming.

This is a three star hotel but like other reviewers I think it is more like four star. If I was being very critical I would say that upgrading the quality of beds and bedding would put this hotel into the four star category for me.

Wonderful break, thank you staff at Holly Tree. We hope to stay with you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    240
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
200
423
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a wonderful value for your money! We stayed one night on our road trip through the Highlands and it was one of our favorite hotels/lodgings! Beautiful views from the rooms, water right up to your windows, was mild when we stayed, slept with windows open listening to waves crash, PERFECT! Food was excellent and service was warm and friendly. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, quiet large too with great views. There isn't much to do around this hotel but as a place to stay on your way though you couldn't pick a better place! Has a nice indoor pool, and rocky beach...really a lovely, little place. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stoped for a lunch on the way to Oban this week.
Can't fault anything. We had mussels as our starters followed by fillet of salmon and a cold seafood platter. All absolutely fresh and delicious. Staff was very efficient and friendly and we were lucky enough to enjoy our lunch outside on the terrace. The views are stunning. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8munros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Kentallen and Loch Linnhe mean a lot to my family and I. So to be able to come each year to the lovely lodges opposite the house (the old station house) where my grandmother was born is always a real joy. We first came and stayed at the lodges when I was 8 years old, I now have a 4 year old, and we have been here most years in some form, sometimes twice a year! The lodges are always immaculate and work perfectly well for a week long family break. The real bonus of the lodges is of course the Holly Tree Hotel where you can have a swim, sit in the lovely bar or enjoy a meal. The staff are always hugely welcoming, especially Shona who is always on hand to help in any way she can. We love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed overnight whilst passing south and were delighted with the hotel.
We were upgraded to a Captains Room (15) and it was delightful-an extremely comfortable king size bed, two easy chairs, table and good storage space. The bathroom was possibly the best we have had outside a five star hotel. The sliding window led to a small balcony overlooking Loch Linnhe and the view was magnificent.
The restaurant served a good range of local produce and the food and service was excellent.
This must be a good place for children-there were quite a few there.
The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we walked through the door until the moment we left

Room Tip: The Captains Rooms (14,15,16, and17 I believe) are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kildwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I am not keen on Scottish holidays thanks to the blessed midge, we could tell by the golfers at the near by course that there was plenty around. The Hollytree was midge free in the hotel and decking areas, this alone gives the hotel an excellent rating, then you add fantastic food, wonderful views, helpful staff, large comfortable rooms, plus a smashing little pool. The place is well organised but I couldn't identify a manager or owner, the staff all seamed well under 30 all did a great job. Might be back next winter for some skiing days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliespringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.6 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
13.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
12.7 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Property: Holly Tree Hotel
Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Kentallen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing