We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went as a group of four and we all had the seafood platter. Delicious. Everything was faultless. We also went for drinks over several nights, the bar staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. They gave us all kinds of information about the local area. I would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jessie13cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

just back for a 1 night stay at the Holly tree. Fantastic place to break your journey.Beatiful views. Large comfortable,modern room (we were in one of the captains rooms). The pool area was nice and relaxing being able to have a swim after a long drive. Dinner in the restaurant was very good.We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolmathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

It was away from the main road, makes it ideal getaway. There was 11 of us and there was enough space for us to move around. Staff at the holly tree hotel was very helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodhini L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff and given a quick tour of the facilities including the pool and although our room didn't have a balcony we had a stunning view over the loch. The rooms were modern, spacious and clean which gave a very good impression. Once over the initial getting in and settled we headed for the bar, the staff were really friendly and by the end of our 6 night stay knew and remembered what drinks we preferred. The food was amazing, there wasn't one night were either of us managed to eat a full 3 course meal the food was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented, we chose to eat in the bar the last couple of night as the slightly more relaxed style of food suited us better. The hotel is situated not far from loads of good walks and glencoe so we spent most of our morning walking up mountains and the afternoons in the pool. Be warned though, the temprature of the pool is a little cool for some.

We both had an amazing time at this hotel and are planning on coming back in May

Room Tip: all the rooms that face the loch have stunning views, however if staying out of season don't bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

From arrival to departure of our 'honeymoon' we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Friendly, helpful and cheerful staff along with an amazing hotel and excellent food menu covering every mouthwatering experience you could want especially the seafood dish. The array of local beverages was also divine.
We spent our days exploring the surrounding areas happy that returning here and having a sauna and swim, was the icing on the cake each day. We are booking our anniversary here this year, without a doubt and we cannot wait to return to Scotland.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were wonderfully suprised when we arrived with the views across the loch.

We had a Captains room with balcony and the room was lovely and clean. A large room with a large bathroom, with bath and shower.

You could spend all day looking at the view.

Had a meal in the evening, my wife had the Seafood rendezvous which she said was lovely.
I had the steak which again was cooked to perfection.

The staff in the restaurant were very helpful, with the seafood dish. My wife had never eaten oysters before or opened up langoustines. The staff helped her how to do it and she said it was delicious,

The rooms were quiet, with hardly any noise from outside.

Breakfast was good apart from two things. The bacon was anemic and the mushrooms were like tinned mushrooms and fried. They may not have been. The rest of the breakfast was good, the eggs being really tasty.

I would recommend this hotel for other people.

The swimming pool area was nice and clean. The sauna was nice , not too hot.

There are 2 single changing cubicles with lockers outside.

Room Tip: If you can the Captains room with balcony is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My fiance took me away for my birthday. Our room was lovely, nicely decorated, spacious with a balcony overlooking the loch. Fab bath! Food in restaurant was superb and we both thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The only negative we encountered was in the pool and spa. There were unsupervised children playing which would not be a problem apart from the constant shouting and screeching and jumping into the pool. They made it difficult to enjoy a relaxing swim. The other downside was the lights not working overhead in the pool area which left us with too little light to dress by.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we will go back

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
182 reviews
2.7 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
738 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,276 reviews
13.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
633 reviews
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range: £83 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Kentallen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing