We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic foody hotel”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Holly Tree for a night last week and it was excellent. I would recommend a sea view room as the views are beautiful. Our room wasn't huge but was very clean, bathroom was lovely and huge comfy bed. They put two additional beds in the room for our kids aged 13 and 10 which most other hotels normally won't do as want you to book two rooms. The food at this hotel is fantastic, especially the seafood. The mussels are to die for, excellent selection of wines and all very reasonably priced. This is our second visit to this hotel and I will definitely be going back.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LadyMuckForfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

A very warm welcome by the staff and surprising one of the staff members could remember us from our visit two years before. Room was clean with exceptional views.

Likely to return again soon..... Another enjoyable visit!

Thank you!

Room Tip: The best rooms would be the balcony rooms as you would be able to sit out and watch the sun set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbershf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with family. The views were superb and the food was excellent. Arrived earlier than planned due to no skiing at Glencoe (too windy). Room was ready so sat down at the window watching the rain and enjoying the complimentary tea etc. The rooms were large and clean and the double was a double not two beds joined together. Felt that the bathroom was a wee bit tired (would only lose 1/2 a point if possible) The hotel had already pre-booked a dinner reservation for us as the restaurant was busy that night. The food was excellent from the starters to the sweets and the staff very attentive. Nice to see local staff being employed not just Eastern Europeans.
Would we go back - definitely

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked a captain's room for a 2 night stay, as a treat for my wife's 40th.
The room had a spectacular view over the loch, cleanliness was ok, our bat wasn't cleaned and the bathroom was shiny with a below average finish ( I'm a bit fussy sometimes). Plenty of hot water.
The bed wasn't exactly BIG, as said before, it was 2 singles joined together. It was comfy enough but the gap in the middle was annoying.
The restaurant, was trying to be high end but lacked quality. I thought that the seafood platter @ £22, was cheap. Until I got it, the langoustines were not fresh but frozen, which makes eating them a chore. The chef obviously likes cream as it dominated most of the menu!

All in all, it was good, but not great and the prices were not reflected in the food. The staff were all friendly and service was good. It was trying too hard, no soul to the building.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights in March (not a friday or saturday so quite cheap) with husband and two young children. The hotel was great. We had a room that we could all fit in with a generous bathroom and a balcony with the most glorious views. The pool was just what we needed with the children. We loved the breakfast and had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times which was lovely (my husband strongly recommends the venisonl!). We enjoyed some whiskies and liqueur coffees in the bar too! The staff were welcoming and accommodating of our various needs. A few very minor comments for the hotel: the room was quite hot at night and seemingly could not be controlled by us; the tea tray could be poshified with a few different teas and coffees and perhaps the option to collect a jug of fresh milk; we were brought wrong items for breakfast and the wrong bottle of wine at dinner which was a little frustrating though hardly a major problem!

Room Tip: we had a captains room which had a balcony and was big enough for the double, a fold out bed and a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Branet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went as a group of four and we all had the seafood platter. Delicious. Everything was faultless. We also went for drinks over several nights, the bar staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. They gave us all kinds of information about the local area. I would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jessie13cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

just back for a 1 night stay at the Holly tree. Fantastic place to break your journey.Beatiful views. Large comfortable,modern room (we were in one of the captains rooms). The pool area was nice and relaxing being able to have a swim after a long drive. Dinner in the restaurant was very good.We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolmathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
13.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
2.7 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range: £75 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Kentallen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing