We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The views are fantastic. Our room had a little balcony and I didn't want tl leave it! The food was also very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast too. We hope to visit again soon and stay longer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scully1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    257
    90
    15
    13
See reviews for
212
455
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a great ground floor standard room with patio doors and a little decking area outside. The bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom had a bathtub, great for soaking after a long day's walk. Great view onto loch with sunset. Could not hear road behind hotel. Little swimming pool with long opening hours. Nice, happy staff.

Good restaurant with great food!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a one night stay with my husband and wish we could have stayed much longer.

My parents treated us to this as they had visited a couple of times before and spoke very highly of it.

I don't think their website can really do it justice; as a Scot that's travelled the homeland well, the setting is particularly phenomenal, and the hotel itself is clean and well equipped. We didn't expect a little decking area in our room, so this was a bonus. I would also add that all the staff are welcoming and the food is glorious.

We ate in the seafood restaurant with a 3 course dinner. There was a good choice on the menu, with several specials available. I had Tempura monkfish tails with a plum dressing, and they were remarkable! Enjoyed every last morsel so much that I couldn't finish my equally delicious sea bream main.

We will definitely be returning and I will be recommending this little gem to anyone travelling this way in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmiaowsterflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the way back from the Outer Hebrides and what a find. We has intended to drive on to Glasgow and stay with family but the length of the drive and fading light had beaten us. My wife found the hotel online with her phone and quickly contacted them to ask about the availability of a family room for the night including space for the family dog. We were assured that all of our needs would be met for the sum of £70 for the night including breakfast. Upon arrival we couldn't believe our luck, as so many hotels in this part of Scotland are a tad dated/in need of a refurb, Holly Trees was smart and really comfortable. The receptionist informed us that we could have two adjacent rooms for the same amount and my kids immediately fell in love with the place. We ordered drinks and sat in the back lounge with the dog whilst playing cards and felt really at home. In the morning a really gorgeous full Scottish was served that set us up for the long drive home to Staffordshire. Like the previous review said, there are few places where we would go back to but Holly Tree Hotel is now on our list to return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is the only hotel in years that we as a family all want to go back to, the location is absolutely stunning and to top it all we had three days of perfect weather.
The staff from start to finish were superb, excellent food and drink was not a rip off as most hotels like to do.
Wife and daughter enjoyed the pool and sauna as well, I can't rate this hotel highly enough it is a true gem and yet only 3 star??
Will be looking to plan a return visit ASAP

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banzai2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Holly Tree for a night last week and it was excellent. I would recommend a sea view room as the views are beautiful. Our room wasn't huge but was very clean, bathroom was lovely and huge comfy bed. They put two additional beds in the room for our kids aged 13 and 10 which most other hotels normally won't do as want you to book two rooms. The food at this hotel is fantastic, especially the seafood. The mussels are to die for, excellent selection of wines and all very reasonably priced. This is our second visit to this hotel and I will definitely be going back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadyMuckForfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A very warm welcome by the staff and surprising one of the staff members could remember us from our visit two years before. Room was clean with exceptional views.

Likely to return again soon..... Another enjoyable visit!

Thank you!

Room Tip: The best rooms would be the balcony rooms as you would be able to sit out and watch the sun set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbershf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
334 reviews
2.7 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
692 reviews
2.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Property: Holly Tree Hotel
Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Kentallen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing