We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family lunch”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here today with our daughter and two children,and we had a lovely time. The food as usual was lovely. The staff could not have been better, so pleasant nice, and attentive. Well done Holly Tree again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank loobyloo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
There are newer reviews for Holly Tree Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here last June and visited the area again this May - but staying in a different hotel. We loved this hotel and restaurant last time so booked a table. Not disappointed. The food was again excellent (my started of hot smoked trout was the size of a main course, delicious and fantastic value), service first class and the views amazing. Next time we will stay in the hotel - best food in the area. Well done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ally051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for the 2nd time in early May, once again a fantastic visit. The staff are brilliant, always have a smile & pleasant greeting for you. The food is excellent & the views, well what can I say, I could just sit and watch all day, it changes constantly, fabulous. God willing we'll be back again next year, if not sooner!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8, which is on the top floor, lovely & quiet, but I would imagine most of the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimary61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

What a little gem , got as a last chance, after travelling from the North. Great food, had crab and a beef fillet, excellent. Beautiful sceanery and great comfy rooms. It is surprising how surrounding lift you in an hotel. Will be going back, as it's only 4hrs from Bolton and they take well behaved dogs, he's better behaved than me. Staff spot on. Ginger

Room Tip: Ask for any , your pocket. All good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What a great place to stay, all rooms have stunning views over the loch. The rooms were very good, as were the beds!! Good size bathroom.
We had a delicious diner aswell. A place to remember and we will certainly come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeGoeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in April just after Easter. We have stayed at this hotel on 4 or 5 occasions previously and are always impressed (would have stayed more but some years prices have gone too high).
We stayed in a Captains bedroom as they have balconies and are slightly bigger and I think have bigger beds. Mattresses are a bit hard, but then some people may prefer them like that. Rooms are nicely furnished and clean, not ultra modern but serve their purpose well. Most important is the view from all bedroom windows across Loch Linnhe to the mountains the other side and amazing sunsets. The pier and terrace are lovely to sit out with a drink (if you are lucky with the weather as we were on this occasion).
The food in the restaurant for both breakfast and evening meals (we have always stayed DB&B) is second to none and along with the view is what keeps us returning. Seafood is always very fresh and amazing as well as the Steak! Unlike other hotels there is also no financial restriction on the DB&B guest so you can have exactly what you want from the menu.
Service is always good throughout and there is also the small indoor pool which is a great added bonus.

Room Tip: Captains rooms are worth a few extra pounds especially if you go in warm weather
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a ground floor room which had a balcony with table and chairs. This was really good as you can sit there and wonder at the fantastic view of Loch Linnhe and Morvern mountains. The room itself was spacious and clean. The bathroom was big with plentiful hot water and a good shower (and bath). The food was very good and service was too. We will definitely be returning. We loved it.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have access to the loch.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
156 reviews
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,213 reviews
2.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range: £103 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Kentallen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing