We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok restaurant, fantastic location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant, fantastic location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel, just had dinner one night. The food was fine, nice seafood, good venison, but nothing outstanding. The service was friendly but the staff didn't seem very well trained, maybe. Didn't seem very knowledgable. But the view...awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    240
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
200
423
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

For us this visit had almost no faults whatsoever.
It is rare to stay in a room with such magnificent views particularly when the sun set over the Morven peninsula, just breathtaking, Scotland at its best. As for the hotel top marks. We had a modern room with its own balcony and the fabulous scenic/sea view, it is worth the extra cost for the balcony rooms. The bathroom was large and modern. The wall to ceiling windows give the room an even larger feel.
Good outdoor area to sit with your drinks all determined by the midges, they were biting.
Dinner can be either in the bar or restaurant and seemed to be more or less the same menu. The restaurant had a few more main course options.
We had smoked haddock chowder, full of fish and taste, excellent. The local langoustines were a dearer option but what a dish, 8 super sized prawns, fabulous. The main course scallops were a decent portion and properly cooked. The only grumble was the expensive rib eye which was chewy, a let down.
The staff were friendly and chatty particularly the guys, at meal service the girls appeared a little distant.
Overall an excellent visit and we will be back.

Room Tip: Higher up room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desmondo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stopped for lunch on 28th June 2014. 3rd time.
Not disappointed again.
Great quality, fresh seafood and delicious vegetarian option.
Staff attentive. Bar food good value for money.
Stunning loch views.
Plenty of room for crash helmets and leathers!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitters60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose the hotel because of it's 'pet-friendly' credentials, and were stunned by how good it was. The 'pet' rooms are all ground floor with a deck out into the garden for those late night 'p-mails'. Couldn't fault the hotel on anything really, the dog loved it, meeting new pals, and mucking around on the beach. we loved the hotel, with a dining room with superb food and views that I defy you to avoid using an expletive to describe how good it is. Facilities are excellent and the staff very friendly. My only gripe is there were only three real ales available, but even that's half-hearted. We'll be going back soon !!

Room Tip: If you have a dog, the rooms are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumski56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here at the weekend and was bowled over by the views from my room, the loch was just beautiful. The service was great and the food was delicious. I would recommend the hotel to anyone, I just wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 7, great views from bedroom AND the bathroom too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having had an exceptional food experience at The Holly Tree some time ago, my husband and I decided to return as we had planned a night in the area. We have no complaints about the room which was very good and had a wonderful view over the water. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about our experience in the dining room. Again views great but quality of food average. Asked for a glass of Suvignon blanc, they had run out!! Menu not inspiring . breakfast also not particularly exciting, run of the mill variety and a choice of porridge or cooked breakfast choices from hot section, unusual!
When checking out, our deposit of £75.00 had not been deducted from the bill.
Overall a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stopped in for lunch here and it was beautiful. A great view of the Loch while we ate. Food was delicious and hot, which was what I wanted after a day of travel. I had tomato soup and a salad, my friend had the steak and chips.
The wait staff was helpful and funny. I only regret that I had no cash to tip them (I'm sorry!!!) Their credit card reader does not allow for tip to be added via card. But they were kind enough to tell us where the nearest atm was.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyBoop81791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.6 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
13.8 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
12.7 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Property: Holly Tree Hotel
Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Kentallen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing