We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Holly Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holly Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a top class meal here while staying in Glencoe. Beautiful setting, friendly service and delicious, well cooked food. Had juicy scallops followed by perfectly cooked venison. Portions are on the large side but managed a pudding too! Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HighMaintenance69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    255
    89
    15
    12
See reviews for
209
453
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have visited the Holly Tree 3 times in 10months and each visit we love it even more ! The food is to die for with good selection of excellent quality food cooked to perfection ! We always have one of the Captains rooms which has a balcony with beautiful views towards Oban & Fort William. The sunsets are awesome. Our room was spacious , clean ,well furnished with large comfortable beds and the luxurious bathroom has large shower & bath . Beautiful loch views as the hotel sits on the edge of Loch Linnhe. The staff are friendly yet professional our Grandson has allergies and they went out of their way to assure his food safety ! Well done . The whole hotel has a special ambience with its history - previously old railway station of Kentallen and Rennie McIntosh themed restaurant. There is a lovely swimming pool & sauna so nice after day of adventures. Thanks again everyone for an unforgetable stay & look forward to returning soon .

Room Tip: Captains room has balcony but all have loch view. Also lodges available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely spot. Nice decor with magnificent views. Friendly staff.

Steak pie was't ordinary and could have done with more cooking. The veg were on the raw side, one more minute would have won me over. The mange tout hadn't seen any hot water. Lol.
There was plenty of the filling but a scant topping.

This brings me to my pet hate, it was not steak pie, put a beef stew with a lid added later. Tell the chef to look at the definition of a pie. Chef will find out that a pie means that oastry and filling touch each other during the cooking time.
Disappointing overall, I felt the menu was generally pricey and would have like to have had a roast, after all it was Sunday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Fotofart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is the second occasion we have stayed which is unlike us. This is a beautiful hotel that you'll not want to tell any-one about. We stayed in a Captain's Room with a balcony and and a view of the loch and surrounding hills. It was the hottest week of the year and like being abroad. The room s are finished to a high specification and immaculate. Seafood in abundance and the staff couldn't be nicer...helpful without being intrusive. For those who want there is a pool and sauna although during our last visit everyone was in the loch..dogs included! Thank you again Holly Tree for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Captain's Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Archiebubbles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The setting for dinner is stunning: you can have an amazing view on the loch from any table (either restaurant or bar)!! Wonderful! We went twice for dinner and had chicken broth, smoked haddock chowder, salmon, sea bass fillet, mussels. Overall great food, a bit on the greasy side but very well cooked, original and very balance-tasting. Service is fast and waiters are nice!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Alessia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at end of July. What a spectacular location! Beautiful clean room with amazing view. No balcony but bar terrace is a lovely place to enjoy good food and "drink" in that view. Was a bit dismayed to see the bar terrace right under our bedroom window but it is very early doors for eating and drinking and noise was not a problem. Food is good with generous portions and reasonably priced. Good breakfast.

Staff made us feel very welcome and we were very sorry to leave. Bed was comfortable though new pillows would make it all perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenerousScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

In 2002, my wife and I enjoyed a delicious meal with friends at the old Holly Tree Hotel on the shores of Loch Linnhe in Kentallen, Appin, Scotland---so when we decided to ride our Harley through the Highlands we booked into the establishment as it is today. Wow! In 2007, the hotel was enlarged and upgraded, and the restaurant expanded---providing superior rooms with private balconies overlooking Loch Linnhe, and a wonderful terrace deck extending along the length of the hotel bar. The beds were extremely comfortable, the views stunning, and the hotel staff gracious and friendly. A perfect spot for a Highland getaway---with family or lovers!

Room Tip: Select a superior room overlooking Loch Linnhe---it will be very well appointed and WELL WORTH the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appinhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kentallen
2.2 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
4.3 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
2.4 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
324 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
687 reviews
2.2 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Hotel

Property: Holly Tree Hotel
Address: Kentallen Pier, Kentallen PA38 4BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kentallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kentallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location beside the sea in the West Highlands of Scotland. All twenty bedrooms have wonderful uninterrupted sea views and are fully ensuite with luxurious fittings and furnishings. Bistro lounge serving all day food and award winning seafood restaurant. Swimming pool and Finnish sauna. Well worth a visit. You'll be back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holly Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Tree Kentallen
Hotel Holly Tree
Holly Tree Hotel Kentallen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing